Roland Garros

You can find all you need to know about Roland Garros or French Open in Paris including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on

Date: 28 May - 11 June 2023
Category: Grand Slam
Draw Size: 128S/64D
Prize Money: 34,367,215€

ATP Draw
WTA Draw
Prize Money and Points Distribution
ATP Entry List
WTA Entry List

Follow the Roland Garros via TennisUpToDate Live Scores by clicking here!

The French Open, also known as Roland Garros, is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments in the world. It is held annually in Paris, France, typically in late May and early June. The tournament is played on clay courts, which is the traditional surface for the event.

The French Open has a rich history dating back to 1891 when the tournament was first held. It was initially only open to French players, but in 1925, it became an international event. Today, the tournament is widely regarded as one of the most prestigious events in tennis, and it attracts top players from around the world.

The tournament is named after Roland Garros, a French aviator who was the first person to fly across the Mediterranean Sea. The Roland Garros Stadium, where the tournament is held, is named after him, and it has been the venue for the French Open since 1928.

The French Open features both men's and women's singles and doubles competitions, as well as mixed doubles, wheelchair, and junior events. The tournament has total prize money of over €40 million, with the winners of the men's and women's singles events receiving over €2 million each.

The French Open is known for its unique red clay courts, which are made from crushed brick and can slow down the pace of the ball. This makes the tournament particularly challenging for players who are used to playing on faster surfaces such as grass or hard courts.

Some of the greatest tennis players of all time have won the French Open, including Rafael Nadal, Bjorn Borg, Chris Evert, and Steffi Graf. Rafael Nadal holds the record for the most men's singles titles, with 14 championships to his name, while Chris Evert holds the record for the most women's singles titles, with seven championships.

The French Open is watched by millions of tennis fans around the world, and it is considered a highlight of the tennis calendar.

ATP Final Results Roland Garros:

2023: Djokovic (Serbia) def. Casper Ruud (Norway) 7-6(1), 6-3, 7-5

2022: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Casper Ruud (Norway) 6-3, 6-3, 6-0

2021: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) def. Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) 6-7(6), 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4

2020: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 6-0, 6-2, 7-5

2019: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Dominic Thiem (Austria) 6-3, 5-7, 6-1, 6-1

2018: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Dominic Thiem (Austria) 6-4, 6-3, 6-2

2017: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland) 6-2, 6-3, 6-1

2016: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) def. Andy Murray (Great Britain) 3-6, 6-1, 6-2, 6-4

2015: Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland) def. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 6-4

2014: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 3-6, 7-5, 6-2, 6-4

2013: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. David Ferrer (Spain) 6-3, 6-2, 6-3

2012: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) 6-4, 6-3, 2-6, 7-5

2011: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Roger Federer (Switzerland) 7-5, 7-6(3), 5-7, 6-1

2010: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Robin Söderling (Sweden) 6-4, 6-2, 6-4

2009: Roger Federer (Switzerland) def. Robin Söderling (Sweden) 6-1, 7-6(1), 6-4

2008: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Roger Federer (Switzerland) 6-1, 6-3, 6-0

2007: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Roger Federer (Switzerland) 6-3, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4

2006: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Roger Federer (Switzerland) 1-6, 6-1, 6-4, 7-6(4)

2005: Rafael Nadal (Spain) def. Mariano Puerta (Argentina) 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-1, 7-5

2004: Gastón Gaudio (Argentina) def. Guillermo Coria (Argentina) 0-6, 3-6, 6-4, 6-1, 8-6

WTA Final Results Roland Garros:

2023: Iga Swiatek (Poland) def. Karolina Muchova (Czech Republic)  6-2, 5-7, 6-4

2022: Iga Swiatek (Poland) def. Coco Gauff (USA) 6-1, 6-3

2021: Barbora Krejcikova (Czech Republic) def. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (Russia) 6-1, 2-6, 6-4

2020: Iga Swiatek (Poland) def. Sofia Kenin (USA) 6-4, 6-1

2019: Ashleigh Barty (Australia) def. Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Republic) 6-1, 6-3

2018: Simona Halep (Romania) def. Sloane Stephens (USA) 3-6, 6-4, 6-1

2017: Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3

2016: Garbiñe Muguruza (Spain) def. Serena Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-4

2015: Serena Williams (USA) def. Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic) 6-3, 6-7(2), 6-2

2014: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4

2013: Serena Williams (USA) def. Maria Sharapova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4

2012: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Sara Errani (Italy) 6-3, 6-2

2011: Li Na (China) def. Francesca Schiavone (Italy) 6-4, 7-6(0)

2010: Francesca Schiavone (Italy) def. Samantha Stosur (Australia) 6-4, 7-6(2)

2009: Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-2

2008: Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-3

2007: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) 6-1, 6-2

2006: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4

2005: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Mary Pierce (France) 6-1, 6-1

2004: Anastasia Myskina (Russia) def. Elena Dementieva (Russia) 6-1, 6-2

2003: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 6-0, 6-4

2002: Serena Williams (USA) def. Venus Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-3

2001: Jennifer Capriati (USA) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 1-6, 6-4, 12-10

2000: Mary Pierce (France) def. Conchita Martínez (Spain) 6-2, 7-5

You can see all of the news about the Roland Garros below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

Roland Garros News

Read all the latest news about Roland Garros