Draw Halle Open: Jannik Sinner receives tricky first-round

Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 21:49
The ATP 500 event, the Halle Open, will start on the 17th of June and end on the 23rd of June. The draws for the mega-event, which will officially start on Monday, were announced on Saturday. It features some of the best players in men’s singles tennis.
Newly crowned world number one, Jannik Sinner, will hope to start his reign as the best player in men’s tennis with the match against Netherlands’ Tallon Griekspoor in the round of 32. The 22-year-old is entering the contest after an impressive outing in the recently concluded French Open. In a five-set thriller, he was eventually knocked out in the semifinal to Spain’s Carlos Alcaraz, losing 2-6, 6-3, 3-6, 6-4, 6-3.
It will be the fifth meeting between the two. Sinner had a clear edge in the previous four meetings as he won on all four occasions.
Another notable contest will be between Russia’s Daniil Medvedev and Portugal’s Nuno Borges. The 28-year-old will be hoping to improve his performance in the French Open. At the Roland Garros, he was knocked out after losing in the fourth round to Australia’s Alex de Minaur with a score of 4-6, 6-2, 6-1, 6-3.
It will only be the second meeting between the two. Their previous meeting was in the fourth round of the Australian Open earlier this year where the current world number five came out on top with a score of 6-3, 7-6(4), 5-7, 6-1.
On the other side of the draw, Germany’s Alexander Zverev will face a player from the qualifying round, whereas Russia’s Andrey Rublev will face Marcos Giron. The reigning world number four will be hoping to continue his good form which helped him finish as the runner-up in the French Open, where he lost in the final to Spain’s Alcaraz in a five-set thriller with a score of 6-3, 2-6, 5-7, 6-1, 6-2.  Last year, Kazakhstan’s Alexander Bublik won the competition, defeating Rublev in the final by scores of 6-3, 3-6, 6-3.
1  J.Sinner
WC  H.Squire
6  S.Tsitsipas
3  D.Medvedev
 P.Martinez Portero
7  A.Bublik
5  H.Hurkacz
WC  J.Fonseca
SE  M.Berrettini
4  A.Rublev
8  F.Auger-Aliassime
WC  D.Koepfer
2  A.Zverev

Just In

Popular News