"I didn't change my boxers!" - Liam Broady argues with umpire over clothing change
After dropping the first set, Broady fought back to claim the second. The World No.127 then elected to change his sweaty gear for a clean set. However, rather than take a bathroom break, Broady opted to change his shirt and shorts on court. This drew an admonishment from the umpire, who reminded him that he shouldn't expose himself on court.
“Since when? I’ve done it before. Will I get fined for that?” asked the Brit. "It just saves a bathroom break, you know?
"I didn't change my boxers! Then I would understand the fine. I didn't change the underwear."
The 28-year-old eventually backed down and apologized to the small crowd, who returned appreciative applause. Nonetheless, this change of kit seemed to work, as Broady would go on to win the match and book his spot in the main draw of the Australian Open.