VIDEO: Tennys Sandgren defaulted after hitting line umpire in challenger match

Tennys Sandgren pulled a Djokovic at the Cary Challenger by accidentally hitting a line umpire resulting in default from the match.

The American tennis player played a match during a challenger event in Cary, USA and after accidentally hitting a line umpire he was defaulted from the match. The incident happened fairly early in the match and Sandgren himself provided some context to the situation via his official Twitter. He wrote:

"So tonight I got hit in the nuts by a ball kid toss with a little too much mustard, slapped the wayward ball into the fence, which collided with a refs tushy as he was walking to the other side, resulting in a default. How’s your evening going?"

The tone of the statement drew some criticism which is why Sandgren followed it up by saying 'And just to be clear, this was all totally my fault'.

It's a bizarre situation that has happened before. Most notably it happened last year at the US Open when a frustrated Djokovic hit a umpire which resulted in a lengthy consultation and ultimately a default. It became a very controversial topic because many considered Djokovic a clear favourite to win that US Open.

Read more about:
ATP Tennys Sandgren

Place comments

666

0 Comments

More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments