(VIDEO) Terence Atmane smashes ball in frustration, hits spectator but isn't disqualified in major Roland Garros controversy

Monday, 27 May 2024 at 16:32
Terence Atmane is still on court late into the evening and towards midnight at the 2024 French Open. But in reality, he perhaps shouldn't even be on court in the first place after a dramatic outburst during his match against Sebastian Ofner.
Atmane who received a wildcard to play at the French Open and last week only lost to Grigor Dimitrov in the latter stages of Rome escaped when perhaps he shouldn't have. He thrashed a ball in frustration after a lost point and it hit a spectator seemingly in the leg in the stands.
Ofner wanted a disqualification as expected due to it technically being the rule that if they hit a spectator they should be defaulted. Novak Djokovic albeit with a line judge at the US Open is perhaps the most infamous incident of this.
But the umpire and supervisor seemed to hand the Frenchman some luck as he was only given a warning. It is a storm as also last year Miyu Kato was disqualified in a major doubles incident after the protestation of Bouzkova and Sorribes Tormo for a pretty similar albeit less frustration based and innocuous incident. Atmane as of time of writing could be on his way to the win to which would confound Ofner's frustrations. He is 6-3, 6-4, 6-7, 2-6, 4-3 up.

Just In

Popular News