Serbia defeated Spain 2-1 in the final at the inaugural ATP Cup to become the first champion of this team event.

After Roberto Bautista defeated Dusan Lajovic in the first matchup, Novak Djokovic leveled the score when he defeated Rafael Nadal. Serbia and Spain were tied after 2 matches and so doubles had to decide about the first ATP Cup champion.

Djokovic and Troicki were supposed to first Carreno-Busta and Nadal first, but nomination changed. Feliciano Lopez replaced Rafael Nadal for the doubles. Even this change did not trouble the players from Serbia.

Djokovic and Troicki defeated Carreno-Busta and Lopez 6-3, 6-4 to lead their country to the title. Serbia became the first champion of this team event as Novak Djokovic was almost flawless during the final, helping his country to reach the glory.


Author: Erik Virostko