Rybakina gives fans update after illness withdrawal from Roland Garros: "Got tired after a 30 minute walk"

Elena Rybakina posted a story on Instagram providing a small update to her recovery after a rather sudden withdrawal from Roland Garros (French Open).

Elena Rybakina was having a really good run at Roland Garros this year, especially after a triumphat run in Rome where she ended up with the trophy. Many coisdered her one of the favourites to take it all unforunately she withdrew suddenly after catching a cold in Paris. Minutes later Rybakina talked to the media and ocnfirmed that she couldn't play a match due to breathing difficulties and overall exhaustion.

Rybakina explained that she hasn't been feeling well for a while and then when fever and breathing difficulties came, it was over:

"I was not feeling good already the day before, so I did not sleep tonight and had some fever, and today I really tried on the warm-up, and I feel the right decision is to withdraw because it’s really tough to play with these conditions.

Recovery going well

The Kazakhstani player has a habit of staying behind at events and exploring the cities where she plays in Paris. The French capital is certainly one that is worth exploring and she did that by posting an Instagram story where she explained that she's finally got go outside again. She also added that she got tired after a 30-minute walk indicating that her body is still recovering from the effects of the illness she had which seemed to be quite a bad one.

Rybakina said:

"Finally got outside #stepstorecovery," the World No. 4 captioned a picture of herself. "P.S. got tired after a 30-minute walk..."

It's unclear what the next event for Rybakina will be and whether she'll prolong her break due to the illness. Wimbledon is an event where she's the defending champion and a big one for her.

Read more about:
WTA Elena Rybakina

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments