The third seed was locked in a clash with American Hailey Baptiste, who had upset former World No.1 Karolina Pliskova in the previous round. After claiming the opening set 7-5, the Frenchwoman was down a break in the second.
(VIDEO) Danish tennis star Clara Tauson collapsed to the ground in Guangzhou, leaving tennis court in wheelchair
Garcia chooses to replay point after successful challenge
During the sixth game of the second set, Garcia won a baseline exchange by firing a smash winner that hit the outside of the line. Initially, it was called out by the line umpire, but after requesting a Hawk-Eye review, Garcia's challenge was successful, and the chair umpire Cecilia Alberti rescinded the original call, judging that Garcia had won the point with a clean winner.
However, Baptiste protested that she had actually played the point and was going to 'make' the ball after the smash, saying, 'I could have put the backhand anywhere I wanted.' The umpire was adamant about her call and refused to change her decision.
Sabalenka: I mean, I'm still have this belief that I did nothing bad to Ukraines; not me, not Russian athletes, not Belarusian athletes, not one of us did something bad,"
As Baptiste and the chair umpire exchanged words, Garcia interjected and asked for the point to be replayed, overturning the Hawk-Eye's decision by the umpire. The fans applauded the French player, and the TV match commentators praised Garcia for her lovely gesture.
Garcia would go on to win the next four points to get the break back, before eventually closing out the match with a 7-5 6-4 victory.