2024 Barcelona Open Thursday SCHEDULE and PREVIEW including RUUD, TSITSIPAS and DE MINAUR – FILS

Wednesday, 17 April 2024 at 22:30
The ATP 500 Barcelona Open continues with its round of 16 matches on the fourth day of competition. Rafael Nadal's elimination at the hands of Alex De Minaur (4th seed) ensured that there will be a new champion of the tournament, with Casper Ruud (3rd seed) and Stefanos Tsitsipas (5th seed) as the main favorites still in contention.
The day will kick off on the ‘Court Rafa Nadal’ with the Spanish players in action. First up will be wildcard Roberto Bautista Agut, who has had a strong start to the clay swing, facing Cameron Norrie, followed by Alejandro Davidovich Fokina taking on Dusan Lajovic.
On the same central court during the afternoon, the finalists from the Monte-Carlo Masters just a week ago will appear. First, Casper Ruud will face Australian Jordan Thompson, followed by local favorite Roberto Carballes Baena challenging 3-times Barcelona Open finalist Stefanos Tsitsipas.
On the Andres Gimeno Court, the Argentinian players will take the spotlight, starting with Tomas Martin Etcheverry against Brandon Nakashima, who stunned world No. 6 Andrey Rublev in the first round. The second match will feature Matteo Arnaldi facing the Argentine surprise package Marco Trungelliti (No. 197), who came through qualifying and, at 34 years old, is making his first appearance in a main draw of an ATP 500 tournament and eliminated 9th seed Nicolas Jarry.
Also, Argentine Facundo Diaz Acosta will challenge Hungarian Fabian Maroszan, and the day will conclude with world No. 11 Alex De Minaur facing the French young star Arthur Fils.
Tsitsipas and Ruud remain in contention and are emerging as favorites in the Barcelona Open
Pista Rafa Nadal
Starts At 11:00+0200
Roberto Bautista Agut vs Cameron Norrie
Not Before 12:30+0200
Alejandro Davidovich Fokina vs Dusan Lajovic
Not Before 16:00+0200
Jordan Thompson vs Casper Ruud
Followed By / Possible Court change
Roberto Carballes Baena vs Stefanos Tsitsipas
Pista Andres Gimeno
Starts At 11:00+0200
Tomas Martin Etcheverry vs Brandon Nakashima
Followed By:
Matteo Arnaldi vs Marco Trungelliti
Followed By:
Fabian Marozsan vs Facundo Diaz Acosta
Not Before 16:00+0200 / Possible Court change
Alex de Minaur vs Arthur Fils

Just In

Popular News