BMW Munich Open

You can find all you need to know about the Munich Open 2024 (also named BMW Open) including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money and more on
The Munchen Open presented by BMW is an ATP 250 event featuring the best professional men's tennis talents in the world.  The current title holder is Holger Rune.
Date: 13 April - 21 April 2024
You can see all of the news about the Munich Open 2024 below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the Munich Open

The tournament was founded way back in 1899 by the Münchner Tennis- und Turnierclub (MTTC) Iphitos, which was the first tennis club in Munich, established by students in 1892. Initially, the club had grass courts, and the inaugural edition of the tournament was played on this surface. Today, the tournament is played on outdoor clay courts.
From 1969, the tournament was also known as the Bavarian Open.
The first prize money was introduced in 1970, with a total purse of $20,000.
Interestingly, the event was a combined men’s and women’s tournament until 1973, when the women’s competition was discontinued.
Transition to BMW Open:
In 1990, the tournament underwent a transformation and adopted its current name: the BMW Open. Since then, it has been a significant fixture on the ATP Tour schedule.


The Center Court of the MTTC, located on Aumeisterweg, has been the stage for thrilling matches since 1930. It can accommodate 5,600 spectators.

Recent Development

As of 2025, the tournament is set to be upgraded to an ATP 500 level event, further enhancing its prestige.

Results Men's Singles Finals Munich Open

2005 David Nalbandian d. Andrei Pavel 6–4, 6–1
2006 Olivier Rochus d. Kristof Vliegen 6–4, 6–2
2007 Philipp Kohlschreiber d. Mikhail Youzhny 2–6, 6–3, 6–4
2008 Fernando González d. Simone Bolelli 7–6(7–4), 6–7(4–7), 6–3
2009 Tomáš Berdych d. Mikhail Youzhny 6–4, 4–6, 7–6(7–5)
2010 Mikhail Youzhny d. Marin Čilić 6–3, 4–6, 6–4
2011 Nikolay Davydenko d. Florian Mayer 6–3, 3–6, 6–1
2012 Philipp Kohlschreiber d. Marin Čilić 7–6(10–8), 6–3
2013 Tommy Haas d. Philipp Kohlschreiber 6–3, 7–6(7–3)
2014 Martin Kližan d. Fabio Fognini 2–6, 6–1, 6–2
2015 Andy Murray d. Philipp Kohlschreiber 7–6(7–4), 5–7, 7–6(7–4)
2016 Philipp Kohlschreiber d. Dominic Thiem 7–6(9–7), 4–6, 7–6(7–4)
2017 Alexander Zverev d. Guido Pella 6–4, 6–3
2018 Alexander Zverev d. Philipp Kohlschreiber 6–3, 6–3
2019 Cristian Garín d. Matteo Berrettini 6–1, 3–6, 7–6(7–1)
2020 Not held due to COVID-19
2021 Nikoloz Basilashvili d. Jan-Lennard Struff 6–4, 7–6(7–5)
2022 Holger Rune d. Botic van de Zandschulp 3–4, retired
2023 Holger Rune d. Botic van de Zandschulp 6–4, 1–6, 7–6(7–3)


Just In

Popular News