ASB Classic

You can find all you need to know about ASB Classic or Auckland Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on
The ASB Classic is a professional combined ATP and WTA tennis tournament organized in Auckland, New Zealand. It follows the Brisbane International, an event that is also a unique combination of both the WTA field and the ATP field of tennis players.  More importantly, it preceeds the Australian Open.
According to press releases issued the 2024 edition would feature American star Ben Shelton, French talent Arthur Fils, and Felix Auger-Aliassime from Canada among others. The women's side had Caroline Wozniacki and Emma Raducanu.
Chilean athlete Alejandro Tabilo, referred to as Tabigod in his home country, won the 2024 title at the expense of Daniel Taro. Coco Gauff prevailed over Elina Svitolina and kept the Auckland Open 2024 title.
Date: December 30, 2023 - January 13, 2024
WTA's main draw will be played in the first week of 2024 (qualification rounds last 2 days of December), ATP's main draw in the second week
Category: WTA 250
Draw Size ASB Classic 2024 WTA: 32S/16D
ASB Classic 2024 Prize Money WTA
ASB Classic 2024 Entry List WTA
ASB Classic WTA Draw 2024
Preview WTA ASB Classic 2024
Category: ATP 250
Draw Size ASB Classic 2024 ATP: 32S/16D
ASB Classic 2024 Prize Money ATP
ASB Classic 2024 Entry List ATP
You can see all of the news about the ASB Classic in Auckland below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the ASB Classic (Auckland Open)

The tournament was founded in 1886! It is played annually at the ASB Tennis Centre, in Parnell, Auckland, New Zealand. 
The tournament was a joint men’s and women’s event until 1981. It was known under its sponsored name ‘Benson and Hedges Open’ from 1969 until 1995. From 1998 until 2015 it was named the 'Heineken Open’. 
After being separated for 34 years, the WTA and ATP merged the event in 2016 and both tournaments are now known collectively as the ASB Classic (sponsoring Bank). Both the 2021 and 2022 Auckland Open were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Auckland Open returned in 2023.
The tournament was played on outdoor grass courts from its inaugural edition in 1956 until 1977, switching to hard courts in 1978. 

On the WTA's side only Australia's Evonne Goolagong could win it 3 times. The current title holder is Coco Gauff from the USA.
The ATP sees 2 record title holders: Roy Emerson from Australia and David Ferrer from Spain. Both men won the tournament 4 times.

Results Women's Finals - ASB Classic (Auckland Open)

2009 Elena Dementieva d. Elena Vesnina 6–4, 6–1
2010 Yanina Wickmayer d. Flavia Pennetta 6–3, 6–2
2011 Gréta Arn d. Yanina Wickmayer 6–3, 6–3
2012 Zheng Jie d. Flavia Pennetta 2–6, 6–3, 2–0 Ret.
2013 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Yanina Wickmayer 6–4, 6–4
2014 Ana Ivanovic d. Venus Williams 6–2, 5–7, 6–4
2015 Venus Williams d. Caroline Wozniacki 2–6, 6–3, 6–3
2016 Sloane Stephens d. Julia Görges 7–5, 6–2
2017 Lauren Davis d. Ana Konjuh 6–3, 6–1
2018 Julia Görges d. Caroline Wozniacki 6–4, 7–6(7–4)
2019 Julia Görges (2) d. Bianca Andreescu 2–6, 7–5, 6–1
2020 Serena Williams d. Jessica Pegula 6–3, 6–4
2021-2022 Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2023 Coco Gauff d. Rebeka Masarova 6–1, 6–1

Results Men’s Finals - ASB Classic (Auckland Open)

2009 Juan Martín del Potro d.  Sam Querrey 6–4, 6–4
2010 John Isner d. Arnaud Clément 6–3, 5–7, 7–6(7–2)
2011 David Ferrer (2) d. David Nalbandian 6–3, 6–2
2012 David Ferrer (3) d. Olivier Rochus 6–3, 6–4
2013  David Ferrer (4) d. Philipp Kohlschreiber 7–6(7–5), 6–1
2014 John Isner (2) d.  Lu Yen-hsun 7–6(7–4), 7–6(9–7)
2015 Jiří Veselý d. Adrian Mannarino 6–3, 6–2
2016 Roberto Bautista Agut d. Jack Sock 6–1, 1–0, Ret.
2017 Jack Sock d. João Sousa 6–3, 5–7, 6–3
2018 Roberto Bautista Agut (2) d.  Juan Martín del Potro 6–1, 4–6, 7–5
2019 Tennys Sandgren d. Cameron Norrie 6–4, 6–2
2020 Ugo Humbert d. Benoît Paire 7–6(7–2), 3–6, 7–6(7–5)
2021-2022 Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
2023 Richard Gasquet d. Cameron Norrie 4–6, 6–4, 6–4
2024 Alejandro Tabilo d. Daniel Taro 6-2, 7-5


Just In

Popular News