"Jannik Sinner kicking himself, how did umpire miss?" says Brad Gilbert as line-calling issues grow amid Sinner incident

Sunday, 14 April 2024 at 10:20
Ex-coach of the former world number one Andre Agassi Brad Gilbert has called for the introduction of electronic line calling after match officials' error cost Italy’s Jannik Sinner a spot in the final of the Monte-Carlo Masters. The current world number two suffered a rather surprising defeat in the semifinal of the ongoing ATP 1000 event to Greece’s Stefanos Tsitsipas with a score of 6-4, 3-6, 6-4 on Saturday.
During the third and deciding set of the match, Sinner was 3-1 up and had an advantage on the serve of Stefanos. The Greek’s serve while trying to defend another break was clearly over the line but the match officials failed to call it and he ended up winning the point which was good enough to keep the serve. Had that serve been rightly called, Sinner would have ended that game firmly in control with a lead of 4-1.
Gilbert, in a detailed post on his social media platform X — previously known as Twitter — not only criticised the match officials for missing such an important call but also further went on to as the authorities to introduce electronic line calling. “I will say again there is time for @atptour to make it happen, why wait till 2025 for electronic line calling, that missed double fault a 3-1 BP just shouldn’t happen, Sin City 🌆 probably kicking 🦵 himself he didn’t 🛑 and how did umpire miss it to #disheveled,” he wrote.

Just In

Popular News