Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic extend their incredible Major streak

Since Wimbledon 2003, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won 58 Major titles, dominating over the rest of the field and earning many records that will never be repeated.

On Sunday, Novak Djokovic secured his ninth Australian Open crown and his 18th Major title overall, moving closer to Federer and Nadal (they are tied on 20) and making the GOAT race more exciting than ever. It also marked the 18th consecutive season with at least one Major title for the 'Big 3' members, extending their legacy and still standing strong against the younger opponents.

Federer and Nadal were the players to beat between 2005-2010, claiming 21 out of 24 Major titles before Djokovic took charge from 2011. The Serb has been the dominant force in the previous 11 seasons, winning 17 Majors to enter the GOAT race and challenge his biggest rivals.

Federer and Nadal lost the ground for a couple of years before returning to their best in 2017, joining forces with Novak and claiming 16 of 17 Major titles in the previous five seasons. Dominic Thiem took the US Open crown away from them last September, with no one to challenge him following Djokovic's early default. The Serb restored the order in Melbourne on Sunday to move the greatest trio closer to their 60th Major crown!

In the final, Novak ousted Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-2, 6-2 in an hour and 53 minutes, prevailing in the opening set's closing stages and racing towards the finish line in sets two and three to defend his Melborne kingdom for another year.

Place comments