Canadian Open

You can find all you need to know about the National Bank Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results and prize money here.
The National Bank Open Tennis, formerly known as the Canadian Open or the Rogers Cup, is a prestigious professional tennis tournament that takes place annually in Canada. It is one of the oldest tournaments in tennis history, with a rich tradition and a long-standing reputation on both the men's and women's circuits. 
Date: 4-13 August 2023
Category: Masters 1000 (ATP) / Premier 5 (WTA)
Draw Size ATP: 56S/32D
Draw Size WTA: 56S/28D
Entry List ATP: click here
Entry List WTA: click here
ATP Draw - Here
WTA Draw - Here
Prize Money ATP and WTA
  Prize Money & points breakdown: click here
Men's Tournament (ATP):
The men's tournament is part of the ATP Tour's Masters 1000 series, which represents the highest tier of ATP tournaments, offering a large number of ranking points.
The event alternates between two Canadian cities: Montreal and Toronto. In odd-numbered years, it is held in Montreal at the IGA Stadium, while in even-numbered years, it takes place in Toronto at the Aviva Centre.
The tournament features a strong player field, including top-ranked ATP players and rising stars. Many past and present tennis legends have competed and won titles at the Canadian Open.
Matches are played on outdoor hard courts, providing a fast-paced and dynamic playing surface.
The men's singles draw consists of 56 players, while the doubles draw comprises 32 teams.
The format follows a knockout system, with players competing in successive rounds until a champion is crowned in the final match.
Women's Tournament (WTA):
The women's tournament is part of the WTA Tour's Premier 5 series, which represents one of the highest tiers of WTA tournaments.
Similar to the men's event, the women's tournament also alternates between Montreal and Toronto, following the same pattern.
The tournament attracts top-ranked WTA players, showcasing high-quality tennis and intense competition.
Matches are played on outdoor hard courts, similar to the men's tournament.
The women's singles draw typically consists of 56 players, while the doubles draw comprises 28 teams.
Like the men's tournament, the format follows a knockout system, with players progressing through rounds until the final match determines the champion.
Tournament History and Winners:
The National Bank Open Tennis has a long and storied history, dating back to 1881 for the men's tournament and 1892 for the women's tournament.
Many legendary players have won the Canadian Open, including Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams, Steffi Graf, Martina Navratilova, and Chris Evert, among others.
The tournament has witnessed memorable matches and fierce rivalries, contributing to its status as one of the most prestigious events on the tennis calendar.
Previous ATP winners:
2022 (Montreal): Pablo Carreño Busta def. Hubert Hurkacz, 3–6, 6–3, 6–3
2021 (Toronto): Daniil Medvedev def. Reilly Opelka, 6–4, 6–3
2020 (Toronto): Not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019 (Montreal): Rafael Nadal def. Daniil Medvedev, 6-3, 6-0
2018 (Toronto): Rafael Nadal def. Stefanos Tsitsipas, 6-2, 7-6
2017 (Montreal): Alexander Zverev def. Roger Federer, 6-3, 6-4
2016 (Toronto): Novak Djokovic def. Kei Nishikori, 6-3, 7-5
Previous WTA winners:
2022 (Toronto): Simona Halep def.  Beatriz Haddad Maia 6–3, 2–6, 6–3
2021 (Montreal):Camila Giorgi def.  Karolína Plíšková, 6–3, 7–5
2020 (Montreal): Not held due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
2019 (Toronto): Bianca Andreescu def. Serena Williams - 6-3, 7-5
2018 (Montreal):Simona Halep def. Sloane Stephens - 7-6(6), 3-6, 6-4
2017 (Toronto): Elina Svitolina def. Caroline Wozniacki - 6-4, 6-0
2016 (Montreal):Simona Halep def. Madison Keys - 7-6(2), 6-3


Just In

Popular News