Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships

You can find all you need to know about Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on
The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships is a professional combined ATP and WTA tennis tournament organized in Dubai. The women's version is held one week earlier than the men's competition. The 2024 title holders are Jasmine Paolini from the Czech Republic and Frenchman Ugo Humbert.
Date WTA: February 19-25, 2024
Date ATP: February 26 - March 3, 2024
Category: ATP 500
Draw Size Dubai 2024 ATP: 32S/16D
Dubai 2024 Prize Money ATP
Dubai 2024 Entry List ATP
Draw Dubai ATP 2024
You can see all of the news about the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championship (ATP and WTA)

The Dubai Tennis Championships debuted at the Aviation Club in 1993 as an ATP 250 tournament. At the time there was no formal stadium and the tournament was hosted on hardcourts surrounded by temporary scaffold seating to host a total of 3000 viewers across all courts.
In 1996, the Dubai Tennis Championships took place at the Dubai Tennis Stadium at the Aviation Club. The construction of the Dubai Tennis Stadium also led to the development of various food & beverage entertainment locations in and around the stadium base, like the Irish and Century Villages. In 2012, a 293-bedroom hotel was constructed on-site that hosts many of the players and officials during the 2 week event.
The inaugural ATP men's tournament was won by Karel Nováček in 1993 who was ranked world number 23 at the time. The inaugural WTA women's tournament debuted in 2001 as a Premier tournament and was won by Martina Hingis.
For five years, Swiss Roger Federer, on the men's side, and Belgian Justine Henin, on the women's side, dominated the singles' tournaments. Between 2003 and 2007, Federer and Henin each won the singles title four times. However, in 2008, neither player managed to reach the finals; Andy Roddick and Elena Dementieva became the new champions. Currently, the reigning champions are Aslan Karatsev and Garbiñe Muguruza.
In 2005, the Dubai Tennis Championships implemented equal prize money policy becoming the third professional tennis event to do so after the US Open and Australian Open.
In February 2009, Israeli player Shahar Pe'er was denied an entry visa by the United Arab Emirates, a country that did not have diplomatic relations with Israel at the time. Tournament director Salah Tahlak said that Pe'er was refused on the grounds that her appearance could incite anger in the Arab country, after she had already faced protests earlier at the ASB Classic over the 2008–2009 Israel–Gaza conflict. A number of top-seeded players, among them Venus Williams, condemned the action not to grant Pe'er a visa.
In response, the Dubai Tennis Championship was fined a record US$300,000.  Pe'er was awarded a guarantee to enter the next (2010) edition of the event, plus US$44,250, an amount equal to the average prize money she earned per tournament in 2008. A number of highly ranked tennis players, including 2008 winner Andy Roddick, pulled out of the men's event (ATP 500 Dubai) which was scheduled to take place the week after the women's event. As a result, the UAE issued Israeli Andy Ram a visa for the men's tournament.

Results Women’s Finals - Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championship

2009 Venus Williams d. Virginie Razzano 6–4, 6–2
2010 Venus Williams (2) d. Victoria Azarenka 6–3, 7–5
2011 Caroline Wozniacki d. Svetlana Kuznetsova 6–1, 6–3
2012 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Julia Görges 7–5, 6–4
2013 Petra Kvitová d. Sara Errani 6–2, 1–6, 6–1
2014 Venus Williams (3) d. Alizé Cornet 6–3, 6–0
2015 Simona Halep d. Karolína Plíšková 6–4, 7–6(7–4)
2016  Sara Errani d. Barbora Strýcová 6–0, 6–2
2017 Elina Svitolina d. Caroline Wozniacki 6–4, 6–2
2018 Elina Svitolina (2) d. Daria Kasatkina 6–4, 6–0
2019  Belinda Bencic d. Petra Kvitová 6–3, 1–6, 6–2
2020 Simona Halep (2) d. Elena Rybakina 3–6, 6–3, 7–6(7–5)
2021 Garbiñe Muguruza d. Barbora Krejcikova 7–6(8–6), 6–3
2022 Jeļena Ostapenko d. Veronika Kudermetova 6–0, 6–4
2023 Barbora Krejčíková d. Iga Świątek 6–4, 6–2

Results Men’s Finals - Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championship

2009 Novak Djokovic d. David Ferrer 7–5, 6–3
2010 Novak Djokovic (2) d. Mikhail Youzhny 7–5, 5–7, 6–3
2011 Novak Djokovic (3) d. Roger Federer 6–3, 6–3
2012 Roger Federer (5) d. Andy Murray 7–5, 6–4
2013 Novak Djokovic (4) d. Tomáš Berdych 7–5, 6–3
2014  Roger Federer (6) d. Tomáš Berdych 3–6, 6–4, 6–3
2015 Roger Federer (7) d. Novak Djokovic 6–3, 7–5
2016 Stan Wawrinka d. Marcos Baghdatis 6–4, 7–6(15–13)
2017 Andy Murray d. Fernando Verdasco 6–3, 6–2
2018 Roberto Bautista Agut d. Lucas Pouille 6–3, 6–4
2019 Roger Federer (8) d. Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–4, 6–4
2020 Novak Djokovic (5) d. Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–3, 6–4
2021 Aslan Karatsev d. Lloyd Harris 6–3, 6–2
2022 Andrey Rublev d. Jiří Veselý 6–3, 6–4
2023 Daniil Medvedev Russia d. Andrey Rublev 6–2, 6–2
2024 Ugo Humbert d. Alexander Bublik 6-4, 6-3


Just In

Popular News