Madrid Open

The Madrid Open, or Mutua Madrid Masters, is an annual professional tennis tournament that takes place in Madrid, Spain. The event is one of the most important tennis competitions in the world and is part of both the ATP World Tour and the WTA Tour. It is typically held in April or May each year, and the tournament is played on clay courts.

History Madrid Open

The history of the Madrid Open dates back to the early 20th century when the event was first held in 1910.

Over the years, the tournament has undergone several changes in format, name, and location. It was originally known as the Madrid Tennis Championship and was held in different venues across Madrid until 1929 when it was discontinued.

The tournament was revived in 1968 and was held at the Club de Campo Villa de Madrid. It was then known as the Spanish Championships and was played on clay courts. In 2002, the event moved to a new venue, the Madrid Arena, which has a capacity of 12,500 spectators.

In 2009, the tournament was renamed the Madrid Open and became one of the most important clay court events on the ATP and WTA tours.

The tournament is now played at the Caja Mágica, which is a modern tennis complex located in the southeast of Madrid. The complex has three main courts, including the Manolo Santana Stadium, which has a capacity of 12,442 spectators.

The Madrid Open is known for attracting the best tennis players in the world, including Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, and Maria Sharapova, among others. The event is a key warm-up tournament for the French Open, which is also played on clay courts.

The Roll of Honour for the Madrid Open includes some of the biggest names in tennis, such as Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams, and Simona Halep.

Draw ATP - Click here

Draw WTA - Click here

Prize Money - Click here

Madrid Open Men's Roll of Honour:

  • Rafael Nadal (2017, 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009, 2008)
  • Alexander Zverev (2018, 2021)
  • Novak Djokovic (2019)
  • Roger Federer (2006)
  • Carlos Alcaraz (2022)

Madrid Open Women's Roll of Honour:

  • Petra Kvitova (2018)
  • Kiki Bertens (2019)
  • Simona Halep (2016)
  • Serena Williams (2012)
  • Ons Jabeur (2022)

Madrid Open News

Read all the latest news about Madrid Open