Rio Open

You can find all you need to know about the Rio Open 2024 including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on 
The Rio Open in Brazil, also known as the Rio Open presented by Claro for sponsorship reasons, is a tennis event on the ATP Tour.  It is part of the ATP Tour 500 series. The previous title holder was Cameron Norrie from the United Kingdom. On the evening of Feb 20, Carlos Alcaraz had to retire from his match while playing against wild card Thiago Monteiro. Sebastian Baez took the trophy in 2024 at the expense of Argentinian compatriot Mariano Navone.
Date: February 19 - February 25, 2024
Category: ATP 500
Draw Size: 32S/16D
Prize Money Rio Open 2024
Entry List Rio Open 2024
Draw Rio Open 2024
You can see all of the news about the Rio Open 2024 below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of Rio Open

The tournament is played on outdoor clay courts at the Jockey Club Brasileiro in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It is the only ATP Tour 500 event in South America and the only ATP Tour event in Brazil (since 2020).
There have been a number of precursor tournaments to this one held in Rio de Janeiro. The Rio de Janeiro International was a combined men's and women's event played on outdoor clay courts from 1947 to 1969. Followed by The Rio de Janeiro Open with indoor carpet courts from 1989 to 1990 was the first ATP World Series played in Brazil.
The first edition in 2014 was headlined by former world number one, Rafael Nadal and fellow Spanish player David Ferrer. Both of them are well known clay court specialists.
The women's tournament was discontinued and replaced by Hungarian Ladies Open after 2016 edition.
For the 2019 edition, there was plan to move the tournament from the clay court surface in Jockey Club Brasileiro to the outdoor hard courts at the Olympic Tennis Centre, which hosted the tennis events of the 2016 Summer Olympics situated in Barra Olympic Park. The reason behind that was to attract more world class players in the tournament such as Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, and Andy Murray who consistently declined to play the event. Juan Martin del Potro famously mentioned to the Rio Open director Luiz Carvalho that he will play Rio Open when the surface changes.
Fun fact about the Rio Open remains that no player has ever won the tournament twice. This was the case again in 2024 with Alcaraz forced to abandon his match against Thiago Monteiro due to an ankle injury.

Results Men’s Finals Rio Open

2014 Rafael Nadal d. Alexandr Dolgopolov 6–3, 7–6(7–3)
2015 David Ferrer d. Fabio Fognini 6–2, 6–3
2016 Pablo Cuevas d. Guido Pella 6–4, 6–7(5–7), 6–4
2017 Dominic Thiem d. Pablo Carreño Busta 7–5, 6–4
2018 Diego Schwartzman d. Fernando Verdasco 6–2, 6–3
2019 Laslo Đere d. Félix Auger-Aliassime 6–3, 7–5
2020 Cristian Garín d. Gianluca Mager 7–6(7–3), 7–5
2021 Not held due to COVID-19 pandemic
2022 Carlos Alcaraz d. Diego Schwartzman 6–4, 6–2
2023 Cameron Norrie d. Carlos Alcaraz 5–7, 6–4, 7–5
2024 Sebastian Baez d. Mariano Navone 6-2, 6-1


Just In

Popular News