Get ready for the Laver Cup: Everything you need to know to enjoy the showdown between Europe and the Rest of the World

Just few days away from the start of the Laver Cup, we bring you everything you need to know to follow the tournament.

The Laver Cup will begin on September 22, and it will be three days of competition between Team Europe and Team World in the tournament's sixth edition, this time taking place in Vancouver, Canada.

The tournament was initiated by former tennis player Roger Federer, who has been promoting it since 2017. However, this will be the first time he won't be competing, although he will have a special participation on the first day as a tribute to the 20-time Grand Slam champion.

The "Laver Cup" is named after the legendary Australian tennis player Rod Laver. This team-based tournament gathers the world's top tennis players into two teams: one representing Europe and the other comprising players from the rest of the world.

How are the teams formed?

Each team is led by a captain, and in this case, the captains are two of the most significant figures in tennis history: John McEnroe and Bjorn Borg, who will be directing Team World and Team Europe, respectively.

What is the format?

The first two days consist of both daytime and nighttime sessions, while the third day only includes a daytime session. There are four matches per day, consisting of three singles matches and one doubles match, all played in the best-of-three sets format.

If the first two sets end in a tie, a tie-break to 10 points will determine the winner.

The points awarded to each team vary depending on the day. On Friday, victories are worth one point, on Saturday, two points, and on Sunday, three points. Since there are a total of 24 points available, the first team to reach 13 points becomes the champion. If the teams are tied at 12-12, a fifth and decisive match will be played on the final day to determine the tournament's champion.

Who participates in the tournament?

Three out of the six team members for each side are determined based on their individual ATP rankings published on the Monday after Roland-Garros in June. The captains are responsible for selecting the other three members of their respective teams, known as the "captain's picks."

Team Europe

Team Europe will include Andrey Rublev, Casper Ruud, Hubert Hurkacz, Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, Arthur Fils, and Gael Monfils. This will be the first time without Federer, Rafael Nadal, or Novak Djokovic. Team Europe has won four out of the five previous editions.

Team World

Team World will consist of Taylor Fritz, Frances Tiafoe, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Tommy Paul, Francisco Cerundolo, and Ben Shelton. The current champions surprised everyone in 2022 by defeating Team Europe for the first time, and they aim to defend their title.

Read more about:
Tennis News Laver Cup

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments