2021 BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open Entry List including Bencic, Mertens and Ostapenko

The 2021 WTA Luxembourg Open will go ahead and several big names have confirmed their attendance including 2019 champion Ostapenko as well as Mertens and Bencic.

The event was not held in 2020 due to the ongoing pandemic but will return in 2021 with a strong field. Headlining the event will be Belinda Bencic who won the singles gold medal at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games. Besides Bencic there will be other notable names as well including doubles world number 1 Elise Mertens.

The last time the event was held was in 2019 and it was Jelena Ostapenko who won the title beating Julia Goerges in the final 6-4 6-1. Ostapenko will return in 2021 to try and defend her title from 2019 but as noted above she will face stiff competition.

The event will run from the 13th of September till the 19th of September and it is a WTA 250 event with a $235,238 overall financial commitment.

2021 BGL BNP Paribas Luxembourg Open Entry List (as of 11-09-2021)

1 Belinda Bencic (SUI) 12

2 Elise Mertens (BEL) 15

3 Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) 30

4 Ekaterina Alexandrova (RUS) 34

5 Marketa Vondrousova (CZE) 41

6 Shuai Zhang (CHI) 50

7 Liudmila Samsonova (RUS) 51

Katerina Siniakova (CZE) 52

8 Alizé Cornet (FRA) 57

9 Alison Van Uytvanck (BEL) 58

Andrea Petkovic (GER) 65

10 Marie Bouzkova (CZE) 77

11 Anastasia Potapova (RUS) 87

12 Varvara Gracheva (RUS) 89

13 Anna Karolina Schmiedlova (SVK) 91

Nina Stojanovic (SRB) 92

Clara Burel (FRA) 93

14 Misaki Doi (JPN) 95

15 Nuria Parrizas Diaz (ESP) 96

16 Aliaksandra Sasnovich (BLR) 99

17 Clara Tauson (DEN) 101

18 Oceane Dodin (FRA) 102

19 Greet Minnen (BEL) 103

20 Zarina Diyas (KAZ) 112

21 Astra Sharma (AUS) 114

(WC) Mandy Minella (LUX)

(WC) Anna-Lena Friedsam (GER)

(WC) Stefanie Voegele (SUI)






Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments