Andreescu and Raducanu lead the list of longest title droughts post-Grand Slam crown

Wednesday, 19 June 2024 at 22:30
Copyright ProShots 2992118
Andreescu and Raducanu are the players who have gone the most weeks without winning a title since their first Grand Slam victory. In a list published by a user on X, the weeks it took recent Grand Slam champions to win their first title after the major are shown.
The Canadian tops the list as she has not won any titles since her incredible run at the 2019 US Open, where she defeated Serena Williams in the final. It has been 248 weeks without a title. She is followed by the 2021 US Open champion, Emma Raducanu, who has gone 143 weeks since her first title at Flushing Meadows and has not managed to lift another trophy since.
Only one other player on the list went more than a year without winning a title. This is the case of former world No. 1 Garbine Muguruza, who after winning the 2016 French Open had to wait until 2017 Wimbledon to repeat the feat, with victories over Serena and Venus Williams respectively.
Another player who has not won titles since her first Grand Slam is Marketa Vondrousova, who won her only major at the 2023 Wimbledon. The Czech player has dealt with injuries over the past year and has not been able to replicate the success of SW19.
Noteworthy for their quick repeat titles are 3-time Grand Slam champion Ashleigh Barty, who took only two weeks after her 2019 French Open title to win the Birmingham Open at the start of the grass swing. A similar case is Sofia Kenin, who four weeks after her 2020 Australian Open title repeated the crown at the WTA 250 Lyon Open.

Time between first GS and next title

PlayerFirst Grand Slam titleWeeks untill next title
Bianca Andreescu2019 US Open248*
Emma Raducanu2021 US Open143
Garbine Muguruza2016 French Open59*
Marketa Vondrousova2023 Wimbledon47*
Elena Rybakina2022 Wimbledon35
Sloane Stephens2017 US Open29
Caroline Wozniacki2018 Australian Open21
Naomi Osaka2018 US Open19
Iga Swiatek2020 French Open19
Coco Gauff2023 US Open17
Jelena Ostapenko2017 French Open15
Aryna Sabalenka2021 French Open14
Angelique Kerber2016 Australian Open11
Simona Halep2018 French Open9
Barbora Krejcikova2021 French Open5
Sofia Kenin2020 Australian Open4
Ash Barty2019 French Open2

Both came so close, but Andreescu and Raducanu are still looking for their first titles since their Grand Slam wins. Them two and Vondroušová the only 3 first-time major champions from the last 10 years yet to win another trophy since. Time between first GS and next title 👇🏻


Just In

Popular News