Novak Djokovic extends incredible consistency to pass Roger Federer

Novak Djokovic claimed his first ATP title in the summer of 2006, a couple of months after turning 19. Fifteen years later, Novak is ranked among the most consistent players ever.

On Sunday, the Serb claimed his 18th Major title at the Australian Open, beating Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-2, 6-2 in an hour and 53 minutes to extend his Melbourne dominance. Thus, Novak has won at least one ATP title for the previous 16 years, leaving Roger Federer on 15 and moving closer to Rafael Nadal, who is currently on 17 after winning at least one trophy between 2004-2020.

Struggling with an elbow injury, Novak claimed two smaller ATP titles in 2017 and bounced back after Wimbledon 2018 to reach the top again and remain there ever since. Between 2006-2020, Djokovic lifted at least two ATP trophies, and there is no doubt that streak will stay alive in the current season, especially if Novak maintains his Australian Open level.

Most consecutive seasons with at least one ATP title:

17 - Rafael Nadal (2004-2020)
16 - Novak Djokovic (2006-2021)
15 - Roger Federer (2001-2015)
14 - Ivan Lendl (1980-1993)
13 - Jimmy Connors (1972-1984)

Place comments