Pots confirmed for WTA Finals: Elena Rybakina - Coco Gauff and Aryna Sabalenka - Iga Swiatek group clashes off the cards

WTA Finals pots have been confirmed which has given a clear idea about which will face whom in the upcoming event.

The last major tournament in the WTA calendar will be played in Cancun, Mexico from October 29 to November five. For the WTA Finals, the pots have been announced which gives a clear about which player can face whom in the upcoming mega-event.

In the first pot, current world number one Aryna Sabalenka is placed alongside former world number one Iga Swiatek which means the duo cannot face each other in the opening round.

The second pot, America’s Coco Gauff is placed alongside Kazakhstan’s Elena Rybakina. Pot three features America’s Jessica Pegula and three-time Grand Slam finalist Tunisia’s Ons Jabeur. In the pot four, Czech Republic’s Marketa Vondrousova is placed along side Karolina Muchova.

The rules of the competition suggest that players cannot face an opponent from the same pot. However, all other players are eligible to go up against any player from the other pot.

Interestingly, this time around, the defending champion France’s Caroline Garcia will not take part in the competition as she has failed to cement her place in the top-eight players. In 2022, she defeated Sabalenka in the final in straight sets with a score of 7-6, 6-4.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments