WTA Finals

The WTA Finals, also known as the WTA Tour Championships, is the season-ending event of the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) tour. It features the top-ranked singles players and doubles teams from the WTA rankings, competing for one of the most prestigious titles in women's tennis. In November 2023 the WTA Finals were held in Cancun, Mexico under very harsh weather conditions. Iga Swiatek won the 2023 title taking over World No.1 spot at the same time from Aryna Sabalenka.

Key details about the WTA Finals

  • History: The WTA Finals has a rich history dating back to 1972 when it was first held as the WTA Tour Championships.
  • Format: The WTA Finals brings together the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the season. The singles players are divided into two round-robin groups, with each player competing against the others in their group. The top two players from each group advance to the semifinals, followed by the final to determine the champion. In doubles, the teams compete in a knockout format.

  • Venue: The WTA Finals is held at a different venue each year. Various cities around the world have hosted the event, including Singapore, Shenzhen, Doha, Madrid, Los Angeles, and others.

  • Prestige and ranking points: Winning the WTA Finals is considered a major achievement in women's tennis. The event carries a significant number of ranking points, which can impact a player's position in the year-end WTA rankings and seedings for the following season. Over the years, the tournament has seen legendary players such as Martina Navratilova, Steffi Graf, Chris Evert, Serena Williams, and many others claim the title.

  • Fan experience: The WTA Finals offers fans a unique tennis experience, with exciting matches featuring the best players in the world. The event often includes additional entertainment and activities to enhance the overall fan experience.
The WTA Finals provide a thrilling conclusion to the WTA season, showcasing the highest level of women's tennis and crowning the year-end champions. It is a highly anticipated event that attracts global attention and captures the excitement of fans worldwide.

Prize money for the WTA Finals

The prize money for the WTA Finals varies from year to year, but it is generally one of the most lucrative events in women's tennis. The total prize money for the tournament is typically around $14 million USD, with the singles and doubles events each offering a significant portion of that total.  In recent years, the winner of the singles event has received around $4 million USD, with the runner-up receiving around $2 million USD. Semifinalists and quarterfinalists also receive substantial prize money, with players earning a minimum of $200,000 USD just for qualifying for the tournament.
The prize money for the doubles event is typically lower than that of the singles event, but is still significant. The winners of the doubles event can expect to receive around $1 million USD, with the runners-up earning around $500,000 USD.

Recent winners of the WTA Finals:

Singles Winners:
2023: Iga Swiatek (POL) defeated Jessica Pegula 6-1, 6-0
The Cancun BACALAR group featured Aryna Sabalenka (SF), Maria Sakkari (out), Elena Rybakina (out), and Jessica Pegula (runner-up).  The Cancun Chetumal group included Marketa Vondrousova (out), Ons Jabeur (out), Coco Gauff (SF), and Iga Swiatek (winner).
  • 2022: Carolina Garcia (ESP)
  • 2021: Garbine Muguruza (ESP)
  • 2020: Not held due to the Covid-19 pandemic
  • 2019: Ashleigh Barty (AUS)
  • 2018: Elina Svitolina (UKR)
  • 2017: Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
  • 2016: Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
  • 2015: Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
  • 2014: Serena Williams (USA)
  • 2013: Serena Williams (USA)
Doubles Winners: 
  • 2022: Veronika Kudermetova (RUS) / Elise Mertens (BEL)  
  • 2021: Barbora Krejčíková (CZE) / Kateřina Siniaková (CZE)
  • 2020: Not held due to the Covid-19 pandemic
  • 2019: Tímea Babos (HUN) / Kristina Mladenovic (FRA)
  • 2018: Tímea Babos (HUN) / Kristina Mladenovic (FRA)
  • 2017: Tímea Babos (HUN) / Andrea Hlaváčková (CZE)
  • 2016: Ekaterina Makarova (RUS) / Elena Vesnina (RUS)
  • 2015: Martina Hingis (SUI) / Sania Mirza (IND)
  • 2014: Hsieh Su-wei (TPE) / Peng Shuai (CHN)
  • 2013: Peng Shuai (CHN) / Hsieh Su-wei (TPE)
  • 2012: Maria Kirilenko (RUS) / Nadia Petrova (RUS)


Just In

Popular News