2024 Kitzbuhel Open Prize Money and Points Breakdown with €579,320 on offer

Sunday, 21 July 2024 at 15:08
Thiem Dominic USOpen2018
The ATP makes a summer stop in Kitzbuhel, Austria as the Kitzbuhel Open kicks off from July 22 - July 27, 2024 with the prize money and points breakdown confirmed with €579,320 on offer.
An ATP 250 event, the Generali Open is played on clay and will see a few superstars vying for the trophy. Hometown hero Dominic Thiem is slated to compete, with the former World No.3 lifting the title in 2019.
The event is celebrated not only for its high-level tennis but also for its vibrant off-court activities. This year, highlights include a concert by Austrian band folkshilfe, a night session with local favorite Dominic Thiem, and a special 80th-anniversary celebration on July 26.
Dominic Thiem, who won the tournament in 2019, is one of the notable participants this year. Historically, the tournament has seen multiple winners, with Guillermo Vilas holding the record with four titles between 1977 and 1983.

Notable Winners and Historical Highlights:

  • Guillermo Vilas holds the record for the most titles, having won the tournament four times between 1977 and 1983.
  • Albert Costa won three times and is among the few players to have multiple titles at this event.
  • Thomas Muster and Dominic Thiem are the only Austrian players to have won in the Open Era, with Thiem capturing the title in 2019.
  • Other prominent winners include Manuel Santana, Adriano Panatta, Vitas Gerulaitis, and Goran Ivanisevic.

Evolution of the Tournament:

  • Initially known as the Austrian International Championships, the tournament was played in various locations before settling in Kitzbühel in 1969.
  • It was part of the Grand Prix Circuit from 1970 to 1989 and later became an ATP World Series event.
  • In 1999, it was upgraded to the Championship Series (now ATP 500), but it was downgraded to the ATP Challenger level in 2010 before returning to the ATP 250 status the following year.

Recent Champions:

  • The most recent singles champion is Sebastian Baez.
  • The doubles title was won by Alexander Erler and Lucas Miedler.

Memorable Finals:

  • Pete Sampras reached the final in 1992, showcasing the tournament's ability to attract top talent even early in their careers.
Quarter Finals50$17,510
Round 1625$10,165

Just In

Popular News