(VIDEO) Crazy drama as Tiafoe involved in controversial end to Davis Cup Finals tie, lose match and tie due to point penalty

Frances Tiafoe was embroiled in drama during USA's Davis Cup tie against the Netherlands on Thursday, September 14 which cost them the game.

Tiafoe was up against Tallon Griekspoor aiming to level up their tie, with Botic van de Zandschulp sealing victory over Tommy Paul 7-6(2), 6-2.

The 25-year-old American found himself a set down, but claimed the second via tiebreak to force it into extra time. The third set saw Griekspoor take a 5-2 lead in the tiebreak.

The Dutchman hit a first serve, which the umpire initially called out. Griekspoor asked for a challenge and was awarded the point. Tiafoe wasn't pleased.

He argued with the umpire and tournament referee that the point should be replayed and when he wasn't given what he wanted, he smashed his racquet which meant a point penalty on match point thus awarding Netherlands the win.

Read more about:
ATP Davis Cup Frances Tiafoe

Place comments

666

0 Comments

More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments