Charleston Open

You can find all you need to know about the Charleston Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on
The Charleston Open, currently sponsored by Credit One, is a WTA Tour-affiliated professional tennis tournament for women, held every year since 1973.
Date: April 1 - April 7, 2024
Category: WTA 500
Draw Size: 64S/16D
Prize Money
Entry List Charleston Open
You can see all of the news about the Charleston Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the Charleston Open

The Charleston Open, formerly known as the Family Circle Cup, boasts a storied history dating back to its inception in 1973. Originally hosted on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, the tournament moved to Charleston in 2001, bringing its prestigious legacy to a new venue. Over the years, the event has served as a battleground for some of the sport's most iconic figures, including Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, and Serena Williams. These legends, along with many others, have left an indelible mark on the tournament's history with their exceptional performances and fierce competition.
Throughout its evolution, the Charleston Open has maintained its reputation as a premier stop on the WTA Tour, offering world-class tennis amidst the picturesque backdrop of Charleston. The tournament's transition to green clay courts added a unique dimension to the competition, challenging players to adapt their game to the surface. Additionally, the event's commitment to providing a memorable experience for players and fans alike has solidified its status as a beloved fixture on the tennis calendar.
Renamed the Volvo Car Open in 2016, the tournament continues to attract top talent and enthusiastic crowds, embodying the spirit of excellence and tradition that defines the sport of tennis.
The current champion is Ons Jabeur, who won the singles tournament in April 2023. 

Result Women's Singles Final Charleston Open

2013 Serena Williams (3) d. Jelena Janković 3–6, 6–0, 6–2
2014 Andrea Petkovic d. Jana Čepelová 7–5, 6–2
2015 Angelique Kerber d. Madison Keys 6–2, 4–6, 7–5
2016 Sloane Stephens d. Elena Vesnina 7–6(7–4), 6–2
2017 Daria Kasatkina d. Jeļena Ostapenko 6–3, 6–1
2018 Kiki Bertens d. Julia Görges 6–2, 6–1
2019 Madison Keys d. Caroline Wozniacki 7–6(7–5), 6–3
2020 no tournament (COVID-19 pandemic)
2021 Veronika Kudermetova d. Montenegro Danka Kovinić 6–4, 6–2
2022 Belinda Bencic d. Ons Jabeur 6–1, 5–7, 6–4


Just In

Popular News