Korea Open

Since 2004 some of the best tennis players from the WTA circuit gather in Seoul for the prestigious Korea Open.  This is an event that has already gathered an impressive set of winners. In 2024, the Korea Open title holder will be American Jessica Pegula, who beat Yue Yuan from China on October 15th, 2023. 
Date: to be announced in 2024
Category:  WTA 250
Draw Size: 32S/16D
2024 Korea Open Prize Money
2024 Korea Open Entry List
2024 Korea Open Draw
You can see all of the news about the Korea Open below and read more about the tournament's history below the headliners.
The Korea Open is a professional tennis tournament held in Seoul, South Korea.

The women's edition started in 2004 as WTA International tournament and was played at the Seoul Olympic Park Tennis Center on outdoor hardcourts. In 2012 and 2013, it was sponsored by Korea Development Bank (formerly sponsored by Hansol). In 2014, Kia Motors was the sponsor. In 2023 it is officially named the Hana Bank Korea Open.
In 2020, the tournament was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, it was originally scheduled as a WTA 250 event in September, but was later postponed and rescheduled to December as a WTA 125 tournament and indoor event.
In 2022, the women's edition returned as a WTA 250 tournament and the first edition of men's ATP World Tour 250 event also took place.
Some impressive names have won the tournament in the past starting with Maria Sharapova in 2004. That year Sharapova became WTA Player of the Year after winning Wimbledon as a 17-year-old. To have the young Wimbledon champion immediately as winner of the Korea Open gave the tournament a flying start that could only be stopped in 2020 by COVID-19.
Surely, the most remarkable fact about the Korea Open is that no player could win it more than once. 

Results Ladies’ Singles Korea Open:

2004 Maria Sharapova d. Marta Domachowska 6–1, 6–1
2005 Nicole Vaidišová d. Jelena Janković 7–5, 6–3
2006 Eleni Daniilidou d. Ai Sugiyama 6–3, 2–6, 7–6(7–3)
2007 Venus Williams d. Maria Kirilenko 6–3, 1–6, 6–4
2008 Maria Kirilenko d. Samantha Stosur 2–6, 6–1, 6–4
2009 Kimiko Date-Krumm d. Anabel Medina Garrigues 6–3, 6–3
2010 Alisa Kleybanova d. Klára Zakopalová 6–1, 6–3
2011 María José Martínez Sánchez d. Galina Voskoboeva 7–6(7–0), 7–6(7–2)
2012 Caroline Wozniacki d. Kaia Kanepi 6–1, 6–0
2013 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 6–7(6–8), 6–3, 6–4
2014 Karolína Plíšková d. Varvara Lepchenko 6–3, 6–7(5–7), 6–2
2015 Irina-Camelia Begu d. Aliaksandra Sasnovich 6–3, 6–1
2016 Lara Arruabarrena d. Monica Niculescu 6–0, 2–6, 6–0
2017 Jeļena Ostapenko d. Beatriz Haddad Maia 6–7(5–7), 6–1, 6–4
2018 Kiki Bertens d. Ajla Tomljanović 7–6(7–2), 4–6, 6–2
2019 Karolína Muchová d. Magda Linette 6–1, 6–1
2020 cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
WTA 125 tournament
2021 Zhu Lin d. Kristina Mladenovic 6–0, 6–4
WTA 250 tournament
2022 Ekaterina Alexandrova d. Jeļena Ostapenko 7–6(7–4), 6–0
2023 Jessica Pegula d. Yue Yuan 6-2, 6-3


Just In

Popular News