Rotterdam Open

You can find all you need to know about the Rotterdam Open in the Netherlands including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on 
The Rotterdam Open in Holland is an annual men's tennis tournament. It is part of the ATP Tour 500 series and has been held at Rotterdam Ahoy in Rotterdam, Netherlands. The previous title holder was Daniil Medvedev. The current champion has become Jannik Sinner who defeated Alex de Minaur in the final on February 17 (see match report below).

Date: February 12 - February 18, 2024
Category: ATP 500
Draw Size: 32S/16D
Prize Money Rotterdam Open 2024
Entry List Rotterdam Open 2024
Draw Rotterdam Open 2024

Official website of the Rotterdam Open

You can see all of the news about the Rotterdam Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the Rotterdam Open

The ABN AMRO Open, also known as the Rotterdam Open, and formerly known as: ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament (1991-2021), is a professional men's tennis tournament. The Dutch event is played on indoor hard courts.

The first ABN AMRO Open tennis tournament was held in November 1972 and was won by Arthur Ashe. The following year the tournament was not organized because it switched to a March date. Originally the Rotterdam Open was an event of the World Championship Tennis circuit and in 1978 became part of the Grand Prix tennis circuit. Since 1990 it has been part of the ATP Tour.

In 1984 the singles final between Ivan Lendl and Jimmy Connors was interrupted in the 2nd set (6–0, 1–0) due to a bomb threat and the match was not finished as Lendl was not prepared to play on.

Since 2004, former Dutch tennis player Richard Krajicek has been the tournament director. He himself won the event twice as a player. The most recent Dutch winner is Jan Siemerink. He took the trophy in 1998. He was also the last Dutch Rotterdam champion.

A record 115,894 people attended the 2012 edition tournament when Roger Federer returned for the first time in seven years. This record was broken in 2018 when 120,000 fans attended after Federer accepted a wildcard into the event after a five-year absence.

Fun fact about the Rotterdam Open surely is that Novak Djokovic never won it. In 2007 and 2010 Djokovic was eliminated in the semifinals. Each year director Krajicek sends an invitation but there hasn't been much love back from the Serbian.

Another fun fact is that due to results in the ABN AMRO 2024 edition Stefanos Tsitsipas slipped out of the Top10. This lead to the unique situation in the history of ATP that for the first time no single-handed player ranked in that Top 10.

A look back at 2021 Rotterdam Open

Prize Money & Points Distribution

At the 2021 ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament in Rotterdam, we've seen a star-studded field with Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Andrey Rublev. It was Medvedev who was supposed to be the star of the tournament when he needed to reach the final in order to move to the 2nd place in the ATP Rankings.

However, it was another Russian that showed his masterclass in Rotterdam. Andrey Rublev was unstoppable at the ATP 500 event once again and extended his streak to 20 consecutive victories at the ATP 500 tournament after he defeated Marton Fucsovics 7-6(4), 6-4 in the final. The Russian took home 89,265€ and added 500 points to the ATP Rankings.

Results Men’s Singles Finals Rotterdam Open

2009 Andy Murray d. Rafael Nadal 6–3, 4–6, 6–0
2010 Robin Söderling d. Mikhail Youzhny 6–4, 2–0, retired
2011 Robin Söderling (2) d. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6–3, 3–6, 6–3
2012 Roger Federer (2) d. Juan Martín del Potro 6–1, 6–4
2013 Juan Martín del Potro d. Julien Benneteau 7–6(7–2), 6–3
2014 Tomáš Berdych d. Marin Čilić 6–4, 6–2
2015 Stan Wawrinka d. Tomáš Berdych 4–6, 6–3, 6–4
2016 Martin Kližan d. Gaël Monfils 6–7(1–7), 6–3, 6–1
2017 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga d. David Goffin 4–6, 6–4, 6–1
2018 Roger Federer (3) d. Grigor Dimitrov 6–2, 6–2
2019  Gaël Monfils d. Stan Wawrinka 6–3, 1–6, 6–2
2020 Gaël Monfils (2) d. Félix Auger-Aliassime 6–2, 6–4
2021 Andrey Rublev d. Márton Fucsovics 7–6(7–4), 6–4
2022 Félix Auger-Aliassime d. Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–4, 6–2
2023 Daniil Medvedev d. Jannik Sinner 5–7, 6–2, 6–2

2024 Jannik Sinner d. Alex de Minaur 7-5, 6-4

Rotterdam Open News

Read all the latest news about Rotterdam Open