"I am penalized by forfeiting my prize money and points": Miyu Kato releases statement amid default incident at Roland Garros

Miyu Kato was the unfortunate recipient of a default today at Roland Garros when the Japanese doubles player alongside Aldila Sutjiadi returned a ball back and it accidentally hit a ball girl.

Sara Sorribes Tormo and Marie Bouzkova received criticism when at 3-1 down in the second set they pleaded with the umpire with the ball girl crying to default the team.

After lots of back and forth, the umpire sided with the team and Kato and Sutjiadi were thrown out at the third round stage.

Taking to social media, she confirmed that she won't now receive her prize money and points as well as that it was unintentional.

"I would like to sincerely apologize to the Ball Girl, my partner Aldila & team, & my supporters because of today's unfortunate mishap. It was completely unintentional," said Kato.

"As a result, I am penalized by RG by forfeiting my prize money & points. I appreciate all your continued support!"

Replies to Kato on Twitter included abuse aimed at Sorribes Tormo and Bouzkova saying shame on them, disgusting behaviour as well as calls for the Japanese player to appeal what people are calling a harmless accident.

Read more about:
WTA Roland Garros Miyu Kato

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments