Swiatek, Muguruza and Badosa officially qualify for the WTA Finals

The WTA Finals field is missing only one player after Iga Swiatek, Garbine Muguruza and Paula Badosa secured their place at the final event of the year in Guadalajara.

The WTA Race is almost but settled with 7 players confirmed for the final event of the year in Guadalajara. Heading into this week qualified players were Sabalenka, Krejcikova, Pliskova, and Sakkari. Today, three more players qualified for the final event in the year with Swiatek and Muguruza and Badosa also set to make an appearance in Mexico.

Swiatek will be making her debut appearance at the WTA Finals and is the first Polish woman to qualify since Agnieszka Radwanska in 2016. Muguruza is set to appear at the WTA Finals in singles for the fourth time, with her best result coming on her debut in 2015, where she posted a perfect 3-0 record in the group stage before falling to eventual champion Agnieszka Radwanska in the semifinals.

Joining Swiatek in making her debut the WTA Finals this year is Spain’s Paula Badosa, and with compatriot Muguruza also appearing in Guadalajara, this marks the first time two Spanish women have qualified in singles in the same year since 2000 (Conchita Martínez and Arantxa Sánchez Vicario). The final spot is currently occupied by Ons Jabeur who won't play this week due to an injury.

The only player that can overtake her is Anett Kontaveit who needs to win the trophy in Cluj-Napoca this week. Considering the strong field in Romania it will be a very tough task.

Place comments



More comments

You are currently seeing only the comments you are notified about, if you want to see all comments from this post, click the button below.

Show all comments