(VIDEO) Rune embroiled in huge double bounce controversy in Cerundolo clash at Roland Garros leaving crowd in disbelief

ATP
Tuesday, 06 June 2023 at 08:30
runecerundolo
Similar to Cameron Norrie in the opening round, Holger Rune got away with it when it came to a double bounce on Monday evening at Roland Garros.
Umpire Kader Nouni did not spot the fact that it clearly bounced twice at a critical moment and Cerundolo went onto be broken and priorly, he was penalised for putting away the smash with a ball kid already on the court.
The reason Cerundolo advanced was solely due to the double bounce and it left the crowd in disbelief at the French Open.
"Well, well, well. The umpire has made a huge mistake here. Would he have known that that was a double-bounce, Rune," said the Eurosport commentator Barry Cowan.
"Oh, so he penalised Cerundolo? But he didn’t stop, unless he said something, because I’ll see players stop in a point, and then all of a sudden they give them the fake."
Cavaday added: "Oh, no! Maybe it was because Cerundolo stopped playing. A big mistake and it’s so costly!
"He stopped before he hit the final shot because there was the double bounce from Rune. He hadn’t picked the ball up."

👀 The umpire misses a clear double-bounce 😬 The ball kid steps onto the court at the same time 🤯 Cerundolo ends up being broken at the end of the game 𝐌𝐚𝐬𝐬𝐢𝐯𝐞 𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐨𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐲 in the match between Holger Rune and Francisco Cerundolo! 😲 #RolandGarros

413
Reply

Just In

Popular News