Warsaw Open

You can find all you need to know about the BNP Paribas Warsaw Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on tennisuptodate.com.
Date: 24 - 30 July 2023
Category:  WTA 250
Draw Size WTA: 32S/16D
Prize Money: click here
Entry List: click here
The Warsaw Open, also known as the Warsaw Tennis Tournament, was a professional tennis tournament that was held on the ATP and WTA tours.
It recently changed it's name to the BNP Paribas Warsaw Open. To add to the confusion it is sometimes called the Poland Open.
You can see all of the news about the BNP Paribas Warsaw Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.
It used to be a women's tournament that was part of the WTA Tour. It was played on outdoor clay courts and was categorized as an International-level event, which means it offered a lower number of ranking points compared to Premier or Grand Slam tournaments. The tournament provided an opportunity for professional female tennis players to compete and earn valuable ranking points.
The tournament had a history dating back to 1995 when it was first established as the Warsaw Cup. It underwent several name changes over the years, including the J&S Cup and the Polonia Warsaw Open. Recently its name has changed in the BNP Paribas Warsaw Open which was first organised in Gdynia, Poland in 2021 and won by Belgian Zanevska. The next edition in 2022 saw French Caroline Garcia winning the title. This last edition moved back to Poland's capital Warsaw. 
The Warsaw Open attracts a mix of established players and up-and-coming talents from around the world. The competition features both singles and doubles events, with players battling for prize money and ranking points. Some notable players who have participated in the tournament's previous setting include Venus Williams, Caroline Wozniacki, Agnieszka Radwańska, Justine Henin, Jim Clijsters and Svetlana Kuznetsova, among others.

Results Women’s Singles Warsaw Open:

1995 Barbara Paulus d. Alexandra Fusai 7:6, 4:6, 6:1
1996 Henrieta Nagyová d. Barbara Paulus 3:6, 6:2, 6:1
1997 Barbara Paulus d. Henrieta Nagyová 6:4, 6:4
1998 Conchita Martínez d. Silvia Farina Elia 6:0, 6:3
1999 Cristina Torrens d. Inés Gorrochategui 7:5, 7:63
2000 Henrieta Nagyová d. Amanda Hopmann 2:6, 6:4, 7:5
2001 Turnier nicht ausgetragen
2002 Jelena Bowina d. Henrieta Nagyová 6:3, 6:1
2003 Amélie Mauresmo d. Venus Williams 6:7, 6:0, 3:0 retired
2004 Venus Williams d. Svetlana Kuznetsova  6:1, 6:4
2005 Justine Henin-Hardenne d. Svetlana Kuznetsova 3:6, 6:2, 7:5
2006 Kim Clijsters d. Svetlana Kuznetsova 7:5, 6:2
2007 Justine Henin d. Aljona Bondarenko 6:1, 6:3
2008 not organised
2009 Alexandra Dulgheru d. Aljona Bondarenko 7:6, 3:6, 6:0
2010 Alexandra Dulgheru d. Zheng Jie 6:3, 6:4
2011-2020 not organised
2021 Maryna Zanevska d. Kristina Kucova 6-4, 7-6 (held in Gdynia)
2022 Caroline Garcia d. Ana Bogdan 6-4, 6-1


Just In

Popular News