2024 French Open Roland Garros Women's Draw confirmed including Iga Swiatek, Aryna Sabalenka, Elena Rybakina and Coco Gauff

Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 14:06
From May 25 to June 9 2024, the French Open will take place at Roland Garros with the women's draw now confirmed for the start of the second Grand Slam tournament of the season.
Iga Swiatek is the three-time defending champion and will look to become a four time winner. She could open up against Naomi Osaka who faces Lucia Bronzetti in the first round. The World No.1 opens up against a qualifier or lucky loser. Her quarter though is very much stacked. Not only does it feature the former World No.1 but also Barbora Krejcikova, Danielle Collins and Marketa Vondrousova.
Aryna Sabalenka will be a part of the supporting cast aiming to stop the so-called Queen of Clay. She faces the sister of the younger prodigy in Erika Andreeva. Elena Rybakina has been a doubt at times this season with illness. But the fact remains that in event of her playing, she is usually in the business end and she opens up against Greet Minnen. Angelique Kerber could yet await in the second round.
Coco Gauff was a 2022 finalist and will take on a qualifier or lucky loser with Alison van Uytvanck likely to await. Other names to watch include Qinwen Zheng who opens up against the retiring Alize Cornet. Bianca Andreescu has made it into the draw and faces Sara Sorribes Tormo. She could face one of her best friends in Anna Kalinskaya as the seed lurking in her section.
copyright proshots 21290946
Iga Swiatek (pictured) back to defend her title as the Queen of Clay.
Maria Sakkari opens against Varvara Gracheva with Bernarda Pera or Nao Hibino awaiting. Danielle Collins will face her compatriot Caroline Dolehide and then could face Martina Trevisan or a qualifier. Elina Svitolina opens up a year after her Quarter-Final run against Karolina Pliskova. Victoria Azarenka opens up against Nadia Podoroska and could face Mirra Andreeva in the second round. The 17-year-old opens up against Emina Bektas.

History of Roland Garros

The French Open has a rich history dating back to 1891 when the tournament was first held. It was initially only open to French players, but in 1925, it became an international event. Today, the tournament is widely regarded as one of the most prestigious events in tennis, and it attracts top players from around the world.
The tournament is named after Roland Garros, a French aviator who was the first person to fly across the Mediterranean Sea. The Roland Garros Stadium, where the tournament is held, is named after him, and it has been the venue for the French Open since 1928.

2024 French Open Roland Garros Women's Draw

First Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
First Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Second Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Second Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Third Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Third Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Fourth Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
Fourth Quarter - 2024 French Open Women's Draw
WTA Final Results Roland Garros:
2020: Iga Swiatek (Poland) def. Sofia Kenin (USA) 6-4, 6-1
2019: Ashleigh Barty (Australia) def. Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Rep.) 6-1, 6-3
2018: Simona Halep (Romania) def. Sloane Stephens (USA) 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
2017: Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3
2016: Garbiñe Muguruza (Spain) def. Serena Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-4
2015: Serena Williams (USA) def. Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic) 6-3, 6-7(2), 6-2
2014: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4
2013: Serena Williams (USA) def. Maria Sharapova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4
2012: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Sara Errani (Italy) 6-3, 6-2
2011: Li Na (China) def. Francesca Schiavone (Italy) 6-4, 7-6(0)
2010: Francesca Schiavone (Italy) def. Samantha Stosur (Australia) 6-4, 7-6(2)
2009: Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-2
2008: Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-3
2007: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) 6-1, 6-2
2006: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4
2005: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Mary Pierce (France) 6-1, 6-1
2004: Anastasia Myskina (Russia) def. Elena Dementieva (Russia) 6-1, 6-2
2003: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 6-0, 6-4
2002: Serena Williams (USA) def. Venus Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-3
2001: Jennifer Capriati (USA) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 1-6, 6-4, 12-10
2000: Mary Pierce (France) def. Conchita Martínez (Spain) 6-2, 7-5

Just In

Popular News