San Diego Open

You can find all you need to know about the Cymbiotika San Diego Open 2024 including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money and more on
The Cymbiotika San Diego Open presented by ResMed is a WTA 500 event featuring the best professional women's tennis talents in the world.  The current title holder is Czech athlete Barbora Krejcikova.

Where is the San Diego played?

The Southern California Open currently known as The San Diego Open is a WTA 500 tournament held at the Barnes Tennis Centre in San Diego on hard courts. It is owned by the non-profit  Southern California Tennis Association Foundation or SCTA . The SCTA Foundation's mission is to change lives and build communities through tennis, while making tennis an equal-opportunity sport.
You can see all of the news about the San Diego Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the San Diego

The event originated as the Southern California Championships that ran from 1887 until 1978.  Its current form though goes back to the year 1984 when it was formed by Raquel Giscafré as the Ginny of San Diego.
The tournament has had various principal sponsors throughout its history, and has been played under the headings of the Great American Bank Classic, the Mazda Classic and the Toshiba Classic. The tournament is known for its strong player fields, location in the hills and atmosphere.
Although the tournament achieved Tier-I status only in 2004, it became a draw to the heavyweights in women's tennis since its inception in the 1980s, being a crucial warm-up tournament leading to the US Open.
Past champions of the tournament include former world No.-1s Steffi Graf, Jennifer Capriati, Lindsay Davenport, Venus Williams, Martina Hingis, Justine Henin and Maria Sharapova. Six players won the tournament more than once, four of them consecutively. Graf holds the record for most wins (4); Venus Williams holds the record for most consecutive titles (3). 

Finals Women’s Singles San Diego Open:

1984 Debbie Spence d. Betsy Nagelsen 6–3, 6–7(3–7), 6–4
1985 Annabel Croft d. Wendy Turnbull 6–0, 7–6(7–5)
1986 Melissa Gurney d. Stephanie Rehe 6–2, 6–4
1987 Raffaella Reggi d. Anne Minter 6–0, 6–4
1988 Stephanie Rehe d. Ann Grossman 6–1, 6–1
1989 Steffi Graf d. Zina Garrison 6–4, 7–5
1990 Steffi Graf d. Manuela Maleeva-Fragnière 6–3, 6–2
1991 Jennifer Capriati d. Monica Seles 4–6, 6–1, 7–6(7–2)
1992 Jennifer Capriati d. Conchita Martínez 6–3, 6–2
1993 Steffi Graf d. Arantxa Sánchez Vicario 6–4, 4–6, 6–1
1994 Steffi Graf d. Arantxa Sánchez Vicario 6–2, 6–1
1995 Conchita Martínez d. Lisa Raymond 6–2, 6–0
1996 Kimiko Date d. Arantxa Sánchez Vicario 3–6, 6–3, 6–0
1997 Martina Hingis d. Monica Seles 7–6(7–4), 6–4
1998 Lindsay Davenport d. Mary Pierce 6–3, 6–1
1999 Martina Hingis d. Venus Williams 6–4, 6–0
2000 Venus Williams d. Monica Seles 6–0, 6–7(3–7), 6–2
2001 Venus Williams d. Monica Seles 6–2, 6–3
2002 Venus Williams d. Jelena Dokić 6–2, 6–2
2003 Justine Henin d. Kim Clijsters 3–6, 6–2, 6–3
2004 Lindsay Davenport d. Anastasia Myskina 6–1, 6–1
2005 Mary Pierce d. Ai Sugiyama 6–0, 6–3
2006 Maria Sharapova d. Kim Clijsters 7–5, 7–5
2007 Maria Sharapova d. Patty Schnyder 6–2, 3–6, 6–0
2008–2009 not held
2010 Svetlana Kuznetsova d. Agnieszka Radwańska 6–4, 6–7(7–9), 6–3
2011 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Vera Zvonareva 6–3, 6–4
2012 Dominika Cibulková d. Marion Bartoli 6–1, 7–5
2013 Samantha Stosur d. Victoria Azarenka 6–2, 6–3
2014 not held
2015 Yanina Wickmayer d. Nicole Gibbs 6–3, 7–6(7–4)
2016–2021 not held
2022 Iga Świątek d. Donna Vekić 6–3, 3–6, 6–0

Preview 2023 San Diego Open
2023 Barbora Krejcikova d. Sophia Kenin 6-4 2-6 6-4


Just In

Popular News