Queen of Clay reigns again at Roland Garros: Iga Swiatek crowned four-time French Open champion

Saturday, 08 June 2024 at 16:21
In no shock at all, Iga Swiatek is the four-time French Open champion after easing past Jasmine Paolini in a 6-2, 6-1 demolition at Roland Garros as the Queen of Clay continues to conquer all among her.
Swiatek came into the final with only one real scare and only match where she even lost a set. That was against Naomi Osaka, but since surviving match points against the four-time Grand Slam champion she rallied. She saw off Marie Bouzkova, Anastasia Potapova and Marketa Vondrousova for the loss of only eight games including a 20 game unbeaten run between Potapova and the second set of Vondrousova.
She perhaps had the easier run as the World No.1 with Coco Gauff being the main seed in her way during the tournament. She holds now an 11-1 record over her rival and the hoodoo very much is still there despite Gauff winning in Cincinnati last year.
Paolini came into the contest full of smiles. She had beaten Elena Rybakina and Mirra Andreeva back-to-back and in addition also has reached the women's doubles final. Whilst she may still get a reward from that, she won't in this case with Swiatek simply too good.
Such is the excellence of Swiatek, she only faltered at the very start. This is often the point in the contest where the World No.1 can be caught. She went 2-1 down to Paolini who looked good in the opening exchanges. But she couldn't believe from there. This was promptly snatched away.
Iga Swiatek is now a four-time Roland Garros champion joining the annuls of history.
Iga Swiatek is now a four-time Roland Garros champion joining the annuls of history.
Paolini knew she had her hands full by the time the end of the set came as she was 5-2 down and staring down the barrel already. Swiatek was soaring towards the win winning 10 straight games to go 5-0 up and one away from the crowning glory.
That streak was snapped with Swiatek finally losing a game albeit it wasn't on her serve so she was all set to serve out the match. After toiling with Paolini for part of her service game, Swiatek finally found a match point. Holding serve for an emphatic 6-1 second set, the title is hers once more for a third straight year.
She is now a four-time champion and joins Justine Henin on that mark. She still has to win two more to tie with Steffi Graf who was seen as the Queen of Clay prior to Swiatek. As well as Chris Evert's incredible 7 Roland Garros titles, a record tally in the open era. But given that she is only 23 and very much thriving, that tally could be very much underthreat before she gets to her late 20's.

Iga Swiatek has won the last ten games, and is on the verge of becoming the fifteenth woman in the Open Era to win a major after saving match point. You get one chance against the queen of Poland Garros. If you're incredibly good & lucky. 📸 Getty Images

WTA Final Results Roland Garros:
2024 Iga Świątek (Poland) def. Jasmine Paolini (Italy) 6-2, 6-1
2020: Iga Swiatek (Poland) def. Sofia Kenin (USA) 6-4, 6-1
2019: Ashleigh Barty (Australia) def. Marketa Vondrousova (Czech Rep.) 6-1, 6-3
2018: Simona Halep (Romania) def. Sloane Stephens (USA) 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
2017: Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 4-6, 6-4, 6-3
2016: Garbiñe Muguruza (Spain) def. Serena Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-4
2015: Serena Williams (USA) def. Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic) 6-3, 6-7(2), 6-2
2014: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Simona Halep (Romania) 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4
2013: Serena Williams (USA) def. Maria Sharapova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4
2012: Maria Sharapova (Russia) def. Sara Errani (Italy) 6-3, 6-2
2011: Li Na (China) def. Francesca Schiavone (Italy) 6-4, 7-6(0)
2010: Francesca Schiavone (Italy) def. Samantha Stosur (Australia) 6-4, 7-6(2)
2009: Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-2
2008: Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) def. Dinara Safina (Russia) 6-4, 6-3
2007: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) 6-1, 6-2
2006: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) 6-4, 6-4
2005: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Mary Pierce (France) 6-1, 6-1
2004: Anastasia Myskina (Russia) def. Elena Dementieva (Russia) 6-1, 6-2
2003: Justine Henin (Belgium) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 6-0, 6-4
2002: Serena Williams (USA) def. Venus Williams (USA) 7-5, 6-3
2001: Jennifer Capriati (USA) def. Kim Clijsters (Belgium) 1-6, 6-4, 12-10
2000: Mary Pierce (France) def. Conchita Martínez (Spain) 6-2, 7-5

Just In

Popular News