Japan Open

You can find all you need to know about the Kinoshita Group Japan Open in Osaka including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on tennisuptodate.com.

Every year a mix of established players and rising stars on the women's WTA and men's ATP  tour gather in Japan for the Kinoshita Group Japan Open Tennis Championships. The men play their Japanese Open separately about one month later in Tokyo whereas the women play theirs earlier in Osaka.

Date WTA: September 11 - September 17, 2023
Category:  WTA 250 
Draw Size WTA: 32S/16D
Entry List WTA: click here
WTA Draw: click here
Prize money WTA: click here

Date ATP: 16 October- 22 October 2023
Category:  ATP 500
Draw Size ATP: 32S/16D
Entry List ATP: click here
ATP Draw: click here
Prize money ATP: click here 

You can see all of the news about the Japan Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

The WTA Japan Open

The tournament has a long history and is an important fixture on the WTA calendar, attracting some of the top female tennis players from around the world. It offers valuable ranking points and prize money to participants, making it a significant event for players looking to improve their rankings and earn rewards.

The Japan Women's Open is played on hard courts, which is a common surface for many tennis tournaments. The hard court surface provides a challenging yet fair playing field for the competitors.

The event was held in women-only form for the first time in 2009, and was the second tournament of the season held in Japan: the Pan Pacific Open, a Premier 5 tournament, was held two weeks before. In 2015, the event was moved from Osaka to Tokyo and in 2018 to Hiroshima, before returning to Osaka in 2022. 

Past winners include Australian Samantha Stosur, who won 3 finals, and Hsieh Su-wei from Chinese Taipei.

Results Women’s Singles Japan Open:

2023 Ashlyn Krueger d. Lin Zhu 6:3 7:6 (8:6)

2020-2022 not held

2019 Nao Hibino d. Misaki Doi 6–3, 6–2

2018 Hsieh Su-wei d. Amanda Anisimova 6–2, 6–2

2017 Zarina Diyas d. Miyu Kato 6–2, 7–5

2016 Christina McHale d. Kateřina Siniaková 3–6, 6–4, 6–4

2015 Yanina Wickmayer d. Magda Linette 4–6, 6–3, 6–3

2014 Samantha Stosur d. Zarina Diyas 7–6(9–7), 6–3

2013 Samantha Stosur d. Eugenie Bouchard 3–6, 7–5, 6–2

2012 Heather Watson d. Chang Kai-chen 7–5, 5–7, 7–6(7–4)

2011 Marion Bartoli d. Samantha Stosur 6–3, 6–1

2010 Tamarine Tanasugarn d. Kimiko Date-Krumm 7–5, 6–7(7–4), 6–1

2009 Samantha Stosur d. Francesca Schiavone 7–5, 6–1

The ATP Japan Open

The All-Japan Championships was first established in 1915 as a men's only tournament. In 1924, a women's event was added to the programme. The tournament has been mainly played in Tokyo throughout its long run but has also been staged in other cities such as Osaka in 1933, 1935, 1937, 1939.

Following World War II, the event was also known as the Japan International Championships up to the late 1960s. From 1979 until 2008, the Japan Open was a joint tournament for both men and women. This is no longer the case in the aftermath of the Ariake Coliseum hosting another women's professional tournament, the Pan Pacific Open. 

Prior to the reorganization of the men's event with the advent of ATP Tour, the Japan Open was known as the Tokyo Outdoor Grand Prix and was part of the Grand Prix tennis tour between 1973 and 1989.

Stefan Edberg is the tournament's record holder winning it 4 times: 1987, 1989, 1990 and 1991. After the Swede, home player Kei Nishikori managed to win the Japan Open twice.

Results Men’s Singles Japan Open:

2022 Taylor Fritz d. Frances Tiafoe 7–6(7–3), 7–6(7–2)

2020-2021 No competition

2019 Novak Djokovic d. John Millman 6–3, 6–2

2018 Daniil Medvedev d. Kei Nishikori 6–2, 6–4

2017 David Goffin d. Adrian Mannarino 6−3, 7−5

2016 Nick Kyrgios d. David Goffin 4−6, 6−3, 7−5

2015 Stan Wawrinka d. Benoît Paire 6–2, 6–4

2014 Kei Nishikori d. Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5), 4–6, 6–4

2013 Juan Martín del Potro d. Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5), 7–5

2012  Kei Nishikori d. Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5), 3–6, 6–0

2011  Andy Murray d. Rafael Nadal 3–6, 6–2, 6–0

2010 Rafael Nadal d. France Gaël Monfils 6–1, 7–5

2009 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga d. Mikhail Youzhny 6–3, 6–3

Japan Open News

Read all the latest news about Japan Open