Next Gen ATP Finals

The ATP Next Gen Finals is an annual exhibition tournament that showcases the best 21-and-under singles players of the ATP Tour season. The event, which was first launched in 2017, features a series of rule changes and innovations aimed at creating a high-tempo, cutting-edge and TV-friendly product that attracts new and younger fans to the sport.

The tournament has been held in Milan, Italy, for the first five editions, but will move to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, from 2023 to 2027.

Date: 2023.11.28 - 2023.12.02
Prize Money

Entry List ATP

The tournament consists of two round-robin groups, followed by the semi-finals and final. The matches are played on a singles-only court, with a best-of-five sets format, first to four games in each set, tie-break at 3-all, no-ad scoring, electronic line-calling, no-let rule, player coaching and free movement policy for fans.

Key details about the Next Gen ATP Finals

The tournament does not distribute points for the ATP rankings, but counts towards the players’ win-loss records and prize money totals. The prize money for the 2022 edition was $2 million. The tournament does not count as an official ATP Tour title, but serves as a platform for the future stars of tennis to gain experience and exposure.

Exciting Next Gen ATP Players

The tournament has seen many exciting players and matches over the years, demonstrating the talent and diversity of the next generation of tennis. Some of the past champions include:

  • Carlos Alcaraz (2021): The Spanish sensation finished his breakthrough season in style by beating Sebastian Korda in the final. He was the youngest player to earn 32 tour-level victories in a year since Andrei Medvedev in 1992.
  • Jannik Sinner (2019): The Italian prodigy delighted his home crowd by bouncing back from a round-robin loss to Ugo Humbert and defeating Alex de Minaur in the final. He became the youngest player to win an ATP Tour title since Kei Nishikori in 2008.
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas (2018): The Greek star won five straight matches and captured the trophy over Alex de Minaur in the final. He became the first player to win both the Next Gen ATP Finals and the ATP Finals, which he achieved in 2019.
  • Hyeon Chung (2017): The Korean trailblazer won the inaugural title over Andrey Rublev in the final. He became the first Asian player to win an ATP Tour title since Kei Nishikori in 2014.

The ATP Next Gen Finals is more than just a circuit of tennis tournaments; it is a celebration of innovation and achievement in men’s tennis. It is a spectacle that showcases the potential and personality of the next generation of tennis stars.

Recent winners of the Next Gen ATP Finals:

2023 winner to be announced on December 2nd, 2023 after the final

2022: Brandon Nakashima (USA) defeated Jiří Lehečka (CZE), 4–3(7–5), 4–3(8–6), 4–2.

2021: Carlos Alcaraz (ESP) defeated Sebastian Korda (USA), 4–3(7–5), 4–2, 4–2.

2020: Not held due to COVID-19 pandemic.

2019: Jannik Sinner (ITA) defeated Alex de Minaur (AUS), 4–2, 4–1, 4–2.

2018: Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) defeated Alex de Minaur (AUS), 2–4, 4–1, 4–3(7–3), 4–3(7–3).

2017: Hyeon Chung (KOR) defeated Andrey Rublev (RUS), 3–4(5–7), 4–3(7–2), 4–2, 4–2

Next Gen ATP Finals News

Read all the latest news about Next Gen ATP Finals