ATP Finals

The ATP Finals, also known as the ATP Tour Championships, is the season-ending event of the Men's Tennis Association (ATP) tour. It features the top-ranked singles players and doubles teams from the ATP rankings, competing for one of the most prestigious titles in men's tennis. 
The event has a long and illustrious history, dating back to 1970, when it was first held in Tokyo as the Masters Grand Prix. Since then, the tournament has travelled to many different cities around the world, featuring the best of the best in men’s tennis.
Date ATP Finals: November 12 - 19, 2023 in Turin, Italy
Category: ATP
2023 ATP Finals Turin Prize Money
2023 ATP Finals Draw
2023 Preview ATP Finals in normal flow of articles
ATP Finals TV Guide 2023

Key details about the ATP Finals

  • Format: The ATP Finals bring together the top eight singles players and doubles teams of the season. The singles players are divided into two round-robin groups, with each player competing against the others in their group. The top two players from each group advance to the semifinals, followed by the final to determine the champion. In doubles, the teams compete in a knockout format.
  • Venue: The ATP Finals is held at a different venue each year. Various cities around the world have hosted the event, including Singapore, Shenzhen, Doha, Madrid, Los Angeles, and others.
  • Prize money: The ATP Finals offers substantial prize money, with the singles and doubles champions earning significant financial rewards. The exact prize money varies each year and is determined by the ATP. Novak Djokovic holds the record for the most prize money earned at a single edition of the tournament. He earned $4,740,300 by winning the title undefeated in 2022.
  • Prestige and ranking points: Winning the ATP Finals is considered a major achievement in men's tennis. The event carries a significant number of ranking points, which can impact a player's position in the year-end ATP rankings and seedings for the following season.
  • Over the years, the tournament has seen legendary players. Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic hold the record for the most singles titles with six each. Federer won his titles in 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, and 2011, while Djokovic won his titles in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2022. Ivan Lendl holds the record for the most consecutive singles finals with nine. He reached every final from 1980 to 1988, winning five titles in 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, and 1987.. Peter Fleming and John McEnroe hold the record for the most doubles titles with seven each. They won their titles as a pair in 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1983, and 19841. Fleming also won another title with Stefan Edberg in 1985. Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan hold the record for the most consecutive doubles finals with seven. They reached every final from 2003 to 2009, winning four titles in 2003, 2004, 20091, and an additional title in 2014.
  • Fan experience: The ATP Finals offers fans a unique tennis experience, with exciting matches featuring the best players in the world. The event often includes additional entertainment and activities to enhance the overall fan experience.
The ATP Finals provide a thrilling conclusion to the ATP season, showcasing the highest level of men's tennis and crowning the year-end champions.

Innovation at the ATP Finals

The tournament has also been a platform for innovation and development in tennis, as it has introduced new technologies and initiatives to enhance the fan experience and promote the sport. Some of the recent examples include:
  • The introduction of electronic line calling technology, which allows players to challenge close calls and ensures accuracy and fairness.
  • The launch of Tennis TV, which is the official streaming service of the ATP Tour, offering live and on-demand coverage of all ATP Tour matches across multiple devices.
  • The creation of Next Gen ATP Finals, which is an annual tournament for the best players aged 21 and under, featuring new rules and formats to enhance the fan experience.
  • The adoption of environmental and social responsibility programs, such as GreenSlam, which aims to reduce the carbon footprint of tennis events; and Tennis For Good, which supports various charitable causes around the world.
The ATP Finals is more than just a circuit of tennis tournaments; it is a celebration of excellence and achievement in men’s tennis. It is a spectacle that attracts millions of fans and sponsors every year. 

Recent winners of the ATP Finals:

Singles Winners:
2022: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) defeated Casper Ruud (Norway) in the final, 7–5, 6–3
2021: Daniil Medvedev (Russia) defeated Dominic Thiem (Austria) in the final, 4–6, 7–6(7–2), 6–4
2020: Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) defeated Dominic Thiem (Austria) in the final, 6–7(6–8), 6–2, 7–6(7–4)
2019: Alexander Zverev (Germany) defeated Novak Djokovic (Serbia) in the final, 6–4, 6–3
2018: Grigor Dimitrov (Bulgaria) defeated David Goffin (Belgium) in the final, 7–5, 4–6, 6–3
2017: Andy Murray (Great Britain) defeated Novak Djokovic (Serbia) in the final, 6–3, 6–4
2016: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) defeated Roger Federer (Switzerland) in the final, 6–3, 6–4
2015: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) defeated Roger Federer (Switzerland) in the final, walkover
2014: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) defeated Roger Federer (Switzerland) in the final, 6–3, 6–4
2013: Rafael Nadal (Spain) defeated Roger Federer (Switzerland) in the final, 7–5, 6–3
Doubles Winners:
2022: Rajeev Ram (USA) &Joe Salisbury (GBR) d. Nikola Mektić (CRO) &Mate Pavić (CRO)  7–6(7–4), 6–4.
2021: Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) & Nicolas Mahut (FRA) d. Jurgen Melzer (AUT) & Édouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)  6–7(8–10), 6–3, [10–7]
2020: Wesley Koolhof (NED) & Nikola Mektić (CRO) d. Jürgen Melzer (AUT) & Édouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)  6–2, 3–6, [10–5]
2019: Pierre-H. Herbert (FRA) & Nicolas Mahut (FRA) d. Raven Klaasen (RSA) & Michael Venus (NZL)  6–3, 6–4
2018: Mike Bryan (USA) & Jack Sock (USA) d. Pierre-H. Herbert (FRA) & Nicolas Mahut (FRA) 5–7, 6–1, [13–11]
2017: Henri Kontinen (FIN) & John Peers (AUS) d. Łukasz Kubot (POL) & Marcelo Melo (BRA) 6–4, 6–2
2016: Henri Kontinen (FIN) & John Peers (AUS) d. Raven Klaasen (RSA) & Rajeev Ram (USA)  2–6, 6–1, [10–8]
2015: Rohan Bopanna (IND) and Florin Mergea (ROU) d. Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) & Horia Tecău (ROU) 6–4, 6–3
2014: Bob Bryan (USA) & Mike Bryan (USA) d. Ivan Dodig (CRO) & Marcelo Melo (BRA)  6–7(5–7), 6–2, [10–7]
2013: David Marrero (ESP) & Fernando Verdasco (ESP) d. Bob & Mike Bryan (USA)  7–5, 6–7(3–7), [10–7]


Just In

Popular News