China Open

You can find all you need to know about the China Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on
Every year a mix of established players and rising stars on both the men's (ATP) and women's (WTA) tour gather in Beijing for the China Open 2023.
Date ATP: September 28 - October 4, 2023
Date WTA: September 30 - October 8, 2023

Category: 500 (ATP) / 1000 (WTA)
Draw Size ATP: 32S/16D
Draw Size WTA: 64S/32D
Entry List ATP: click here
Entry List WTA: click here
ATP Draw: click here
WTA Draw: click here
Prize money ATP: click here
Prize money WTA: click here
Preview ATP: click here
Preview WTA: click here
You can see all of the news about the China Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.
The China Open is a prestigious professional tennis tournament on the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Tour. It is also a part of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) Tour on the men's side. The tournament is held annually in Beijing, China.
The tournament was first held in its current iteration in 2004 as a back-to-back event for 4 years, though followed on from a Beijing ATP event in 1993. In 2004, it became a combined event for the first time.
The China Open is one of the premier events on the tennis calendar, attracting many of the top-ranked players from both the WTA and ATP Tours. It typically takes place in early October, featuring intense competition as players vie for important ranking points and substantial prize money.
The tournament is played on hard courts, which is a common surface for many top-level tennis events. The hard court surface provides a balanced playing field for players with different playing styles.
In addition to its significance in terms of rankings and prize money, the China Open is known for its state-of-the-art facilities and passionate tennis fans. The event draws large crowds and creates an electrifying atmosphere, making it a favorite among players and spectators alike.
Fun fact: In 2006, the China Open became the first tournament outside the United States to use the Hawk-Eye system in match play.
The China Open's format involves a standard single-elimination draw, with players progressing through the rounds until a champion is determined in both the men's and women's competitions.
Novak Djokovic is the only player to have won the title six times and holds the distinction of having never lost a match at the China Open. Djokovic holds the record for consecutive wins with four titles. In doubles, the Bryan brothers are the only doubles pair to have won consecutive titles.
Svetlana Kuznetsova, Serena Williams, Agnieszka Radwańska and Caroline Wozniacki hold the record for most titles won in the women's WTA tournament, with two titles each.
The current holder of the China Open title is Polish athlete Iga Swiatek who won the final in 2023. On her way to the final she defeated Coco Gauff in the semi's who was on a winning streak of 15 matches.

Results Men’s Singles China Open:

1993 Michael Chang d. Greg Rusedski 7–6(7–5), 6–7(6–8), 6–4
1994 Michael Chang d. Anders Järryd 7–5, 7–5
1995 Michael Chang d. Renzo Furlan 7–5, 6–3
1996 Greg Rusedski d. Martin Damm 7–6(7–5), 6–4
1997 Jim Courier d. Magnus Gustafsson 7–6(12–10), 3–6, 6–3
1998–2003 Not Held
2004 Marat Safin d. Mikhail Youzhny 7–6(7–4), 7–5
2005 Rafael Nadal d. Guillermo Coria 5–7, 6–1, 6–2
2006 Marcos Baghdatis d. Mario Ančić 6–4, 6–0
2007 Fernando González d. Tommy Robredo 6–1, 3–6, 6–1
2008 Andy Roddick d. Dudi Sela 6–4, 6–7(6–8), 6–3
2009 Novak Djokovic d. Marin Čilić 6–2, 7–6(7–4)
2010 Novak Djokovic d. David Ferrer 6–2, 6–4
2011 Tomáš Berdych d. Marin Čilić 3–6, 6–4, 6–1
2012 Novak Djokovic d. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 7–6(7–4), 6–2
2013 Novak Djokovic d. Rafael Nadal 6–3, 6–4
2014 Novak Djokovic d. Tomáš Berdych 6–0, 6–2
2015 Novak Djokovic d. Rafael Nadal 6–2, 6–2
2016 Andy Murray d. Grigor Dimitrov 6–4, 7–6(7–2)
2017 Rafael Nadal d. Nick Kyrgios 6–2, 6–1
2018 Nikoloz Basilashvili d. Juan Martín del Potro 6–4, 6–4
2019 Dominic Thiem d. Stefanos Tsitsipas 3–6, 6–4, 6–1
2020–2022 No competition (due to COVID-19 pandemic)
2023 Jannik Sinner d. Daniil Medvedev 7-6 (7-2), 7-6 (7-2)

Results Women’s Singles China Open:

2004 Serena Williams d. Svetlana Kuznetsova 4–6, 7–5, 6–4
2005 Maria Kirilenko d. Anna-Lena Grönefeld 6–3, 6–4
2006 Svetlana Kuznetsova d. Amélie Mauresmo 6–4, 6–0
2007 Ágnes Szávay d. Jelena Janković 6–7(7–9), 7–5, 6–2
2008 Jelena Janković d. Svetlana Kuznetsova 6–3, 6–2
2009 Svetlana Kuznetsova d. Agnieszka Radwańska 6–2, 6–4
2010 Caroline Wozniacki d. Vera Zvonareva 6–3, 3–6, 6–3
2011 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Andrea Petkovic 7–5, 0–6, 6–4
2012 Victoria Azarenka d. Maria Sharapova 6–3, 6–1
2013 Serena Williams d. Jelena Janković 6–2, 6–2
2014 Maria Sharapova d. Petra Kvitová 6–4, 2–6, 6–3
2015 Garbiñe Muguruza d. Timea Bacsinszky 7–5, 6–4
2016 Agnieszka Radwańska d. Johanna Konta 6–4, 6–2
2017 Caroline Garcia d. Simona Halep 6–4, 7–6(7–3)
2018 Caroline Wozniacki d. Anastasija Sevastova 6–3, 6–3
2019 Naomi Osaka d. Ashleigh Barty 3–6, 6–3, 6–2
2020-2021 No competition (due to COVID-19 pandemic)
2022 Suspended (due to Peng Shuai allegation)
2023 Iga Swiatek d. Liudmila Samsonova 6-2, 6-2


Just In

Popular News