Mexican Open

You can find all you need to know about the Mexican Open including the entry list, draw, schedules, results, prize money, and more on
The Mexican Open, or Abierto Mexicano Telcel, is an ATP World Tour 500 series men's professional tennis tournament held each year in the Arena GNP Seguros, Acapulco, Mexico. The current title holder is Alex de Minaur. He defended his title in 2024 successfully.
DeMinaur_Alex_ATPCup2020 300x200
Alex de Minaur wins Mexican Open 2023 and 2024
Date: February 26 - March 3, 2024
Category: ATP 500
Draw Size: 28S/16D
Prize Money Mexican Open 2024
Entry List Mexican Open 2024
Draw Mexican Open 2024
Preview of Mexican Open
You can see all of the news about the Mexican Open below and read more about the tournament below the headliners.

History of the Mexican Open

The story begins in 1907, not in the glistening Acapulco we know today, but in the heart of Mexico City. Back then, it was called the "Championship of the Dirt Courts of Mexico." Clay ruled supreme, and elegant crowds flocked to the Mexico City Country Club to witness early tennis legends like María Teresa Torrente and Manuel Llosa compete for glory.
Acapulco Arrival and Golden Swing Era (1993-2013)
Fast forward to 1993, and the tournament shifts gears. It rebrands as the "Abierto Mexicano Telcel," relocates to the sunny shores of Acapulco, and joins the ATP Tour. Clay remains the chosen surface, hosting thrilling battles under the Mexican sun. This era sees the rise of the "Golden Swing," four consecutive tournaments across Latin America, culminating in Acapulco. Players like Thomas Muster, who owns the record for four consecutive titles, battle it out for bragging rights and valuable ranking points.
Shifting Surfaces and Continued Success (2014-Present)
In 2014, the Mexican Open undergoes a major change, transitioning to hard courts to align with the ATP schedule. This opens the door for new champions like David Ferrer, who reigns supreme for four years, and Rafael Nadal, the "King of Clay," surprisingly claiming four titles on his preferred surface's rival. Meanwhile, the WTA departs in 2020, leaving behind memories of champions like Venus Williams and Flavia Pennetta.
Nadal and Ferrer won the Mexico Open on 4 occasions making them the record holders.

Results Men’s Singles Finals Mexican Open

2014 Grigor Dimitrov d. Kevin Anderson 7–6(7–1), 3–6, 7–6(7–5)
2015 David Ferrer (4) d. Kei Nishikori 6–3, 7–5
2016 Dominic Thiem d. Bernard Tomic 7–6(8–6), 4–6, 6–3
2017 Sam Querrey d. Rafael Nadal 6–3, 7–6(7–3)
2018 Juan Martín del Potro d. Kevin Anderson 6–4, 6–4
2019 Nick Kyrgios d. Alexander Zverev 6–3, 6–4
2020 Rafael Nadal (3) d. Taylor Fritz 6–3, 6–2
2021 Alexander Zverev d. Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–4, 7–6(7–3)
2022 Rafael Nadal (4) d. Cameron Norrie 6–4, 6–4
2023 Alex de Minaur d. Tommy Paul 3–6, 6–4, 6–1


Just In

Popular News